We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“less than 2* pretending for 3*” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hollin Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hollin Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollin Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jackson Lane | Kerridge, Macclesfield SK10 5BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Macclesfield
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“less than 2* pretending for 3*”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you want to go back 30 years,then try the roomsin the so called country hotel, the cardboard hotel extension, with very cheap uncomfortable mattress, foam pillows ,most cupboards had no handles , mirrors hung only suitable for dwarfs, electric wires extending below the mattress, although sheets were clean, the heating was at a minimum, the evening set menu was limited and too expensive for a very basic meal.that you can get better in a pub.
Staff were friendly and trying but the hotel needs a complete revamping , and put into the 21st centrury. to make it worth your visit, my advise do not go there

Room Tip: no rooms that we know of
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    194
    166
    112
    105
See reviews for
86
379
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at Hollin Hall Hotel. This was a groupon deal and we therefore knew we were unlikely to have an outstanding stay, however the hotel is situated ideally for exploring the peak district. Overall the stay was average - however there were highs and lows. Our cream tea on arrival was good and we were unable to fault the wonderful three course evening meal - both delicious and with excellent service. However, our double room was very basic and in need of redecoration (not even a picture on the walls) and breakfast was something of a challenge being entirely self-service but with tea, eggs, beans and toast running out at different times on both mornings. Staff were great - but at times there just didn't seem to be enough of them. I think Hollin Hall has the potential to be a lovely hotel but is certainly in need of some TLC. We felt our deal was good value for money but we wouldn't have been happy if we had been paying the normal, full price.

We can recommend the coffee house in the village and a trip to Lyme Park!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Went to this hotel on a Groupon deal which I thought was good value for my money. Room was adequate, bed was comfortable, food was good and staff were very helpful and friendly. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice, quiet location, lovely gardens, grand looking hotel, room adequate and breakfast good. Only issue was the wi-fi didn't work in my room otherwise good value for money. Helpful and friendly staff. Would use again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMhollin, Guest Relations Manager at Hollin Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to hear of your pleasant stay at Hollin Hall. We have recently upgraded our broadband network within the hotel, so we are still working hard to configure the wireless access points but this issue has been noted and passed on to the communications company who are working daily to 'fine tune' our high speed internet services. Information like this is essential to us and I'm truly grateful for your feedback. Kindest regards, Edward Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I stay here a lot for business and finally decided to write a review in the hope the management at this place read them. Despite the rooms being a bit run down, the food location and service staff are all spot on. What lets this place down continually is the very low standard of housekeeping. I have told reception staff of the problems: namely "evidence" of the previous occupants in the bathroom. Which is really quite unforgivable. The last two times I have had to clean the toilet and bath myself before use. Not pleasant and not a good advertisement. I shall give it another chance but I think I might have to find a cleaner hotel for future visits.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMhollin, Guest Relations Manager at Hollin Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Hollin Hall here on TripAdvisor. As a valued customer, and an impressionable character to us, we would be saddened to loose your company over an issue we are currently working to resolve. I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly to discuss your concerns, to ensure your future visits to us are of the impeccable standard of which we endeavour to achieve. Warmest regards, Edward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just returned from an overnight stay at Hollin Hall and have thoroughly enjoyed it. From the moment we booked in, the cream tea, the evening meal, everything was spot on. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast plentiful. The staff were all pleasant and couldn't have been more helpful. All made for a very successful Birthday celebration. Thank you to all.I would certainly return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

At first we were a little put off by some of the reviews. That is until we arrived. We had a lovely room and it was clean and tidy. We stayed on the same day as a wedding party so we expected some interuption. This was not the case, it was busy but the staff are fantastic. They looked after us all and the evening meal was outstanding, better than more expensive hotels. The meal at breakfast was as good and we all really enjoyed the the bufet type serving.
To be fair the decor is a little tierd but you have to appreciate that its a working hotel.
We found this hotel great value and the surrounding village is great for walks. We stay in many hotels and we dont tend to look too closely at minor inperfections, go to the Ritz for 5 star and pay 10 times as much.
We would stay again and we are sure our stay was not a one off.
Take a book and read rather than a note pad and pen and we are sure you will enjoy it.
Thanks for a great stay, the staff work so hard, well done.

Room Tip: Ask for room 54 its the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hollin Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollin Hall Hotel

Address: Jackson Lane | Kerridge, Macclesfield SK10 5BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Macclesfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollin Hall Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing elegantly in landscaped grounds, Hollin Hall Country House Hotel & Restaurant offers a tranquil retreat in one of Britain's most beautiful locations. The 19th Century Victorian House is set in four acres of wooded gardens surrounded by Cheshire countryside which brings a sense of occasion to any visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hollin Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollin Hall Hotel Macclesfield, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollin Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.