We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Macclesfield Central

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macclesfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
Save
You added Travelodge Macclesfield Central to your Saves list
Castle House, Gas Road, Macclesfield SK11 6NY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Macclesfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed one night and found rooms a bit spartan but very clean. Beds comfortable, rooms warm with no way of controlling heat except to open windows, not brilliant when you are right next to station!
Best part was the helpful and cheerful staff who were brilliant, we didnt check in until 11pm and this caused no problems at all.
Tea and coffee in room but br warned,no soap except for hand sanitizer on wall in bathroom.
Fine for cheap price I paid and Weather spoons just up the road for £3.60 cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    47
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
43
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed for two nights while attending a wedding. The hotel was clean and comfortable, basics well covered.

What made this stand out was the warm reception and helpfulness of the counter staff. They deserve a pay rise!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed here while in the area on work, and as the title says, it is the same as most Travelodges.
On checking in, the staff in reception were really nice and friendly, more than happy to give suggestions of where to go to eat.
I had a room on the ground floor at the back of the building - this meant that I didn't really get any noise from the road outside, or the train station, but unfortunately it meant that I didn't really have a phone signal either (that was on both EE and Vodafone).
This is one of the Travelodges that has already been refurbed, so the room was very clean, and in good condition.
It is also in a really good location, a minute or two to the train station, and a couple of minutes to the town centre - there is a bit of a hill up, so you will fill your exercise requirements on that one :)
Not much else to say, other than that I would be more than happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms at the back, that way you avoid the train station and road noise (I think they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The weather was hot on days we were staying, but no fans were offered til the next day. The hotel is v close to the train line & a church, which rings bells all night, so with windows open the noise stopped us sleeping (but even with them closed the noise is noticeable). For one of our rooms, we were told it was quiet, but it really wasnt

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Just had 3 nights in a family room. Spacious, clean, nice hot shower. All for an amazing £22 a night! David on reception was a real gent. Car parking is opposite, and you do have to pay. The train station is outside, but even with the window open, the noise was minimal. For a cheap n cheerful stop over in a handy, central location, this ticks all the boxes. Great spot to explore the Peaks, Manchester and beyond. Oh, and it's 5 min walk to the Wetherspoons pub for a hearty full English and free coffee refills!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

It wasn't made obvious when I booked online that Travelodge's current policy is to overbook rooms and then re-locate people who check-in late after their rooms are filled. I had booked a room at Macclesfield Central several weeks early under the impression that an early booking would mean it guaranteed my wife and I a room at the hotel. I was shocked to find that because we are busy people, had a job to do at a friend's wedding, and simply weren't able to check-in early, that we arrived at our chosen hotel tired after the wedding, and were then told there was no room, and that we were being located from Macclesfield Central Hotel to Addlington! Whilst Addlington was OK, and the staff at both locations pleasant enough, the relocation was more than inconvenient to us, and I doubt that we will ever consider booking with Travelodge again as a result. So - BEWARE - early online booking with Travelodge doesn't mean your room is RESERVED.... if they've got enough people to fill your rooms, they'll bump you off and send you somewhere else if you're arriving late.

Room Tip: Don't just book early.... Check in early too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Just spent two nights here in this extremely well located hotel, very good value at 28 pounds per night, booked on line. Internet is available for very reasonable price. The room is clean and compact, our room was a little stuffy as it was a hot evening and there was no breeze at the back of the hotel, however bed was comfortable and the staff is great. Very good location for popping out for evening meal and breakfast should you not want the pre packed breakfast which the hotel can also supply on demand.
Highly recommended and two minutes from the railway station.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Macclesfield Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Macclesfield Central

Address: Castle House, Gas Road, Macclesfield SK11 6NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Macclesfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 163
Also Known As:
Travelodge Macclesfield Central Hotel Macclesfield
Travelodge Macclesfield Central England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Macclesfield Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.