We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another day out with a large group of friends.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Silk Museum, Paradise Mill

The Silk Museum, Paradise Mill
Park Lane, Macclesfield SK11 6TJ, England
01625 612045
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Another day out with a large group of friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Yet another group day out. Well worth a visit with a conducted tour and explanation of the workings of the mill and the silk industry in UK in general, and Macclesfield in particular.
The guides were knowledgeable and very articulate, and put over their information in a manner that made it that no one was either bored or left without understanding.
Leaving the mill it is only a few steps down the street to museum which packed with machines of the past along with more informative displays, videos and interactive equipment for all ages.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A trip out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

had a pleasant trip to the mill, called in café had a coffee and shared a large scone with my friend very tasty. Worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Small museum, but excellent tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Brilliant tour of an old silk mill, with winders, carders, jacquard looms all working, a good explanation of what it was like to be employed here in the late 19th and early 20th century, and a very knowledgeable and empathetic tour guide.

Go well wrapped up, as the mill is unheated and can be very cold in winter. Ring up for details of when the tour takes place. The museum itself is small, and only 3 rooms. There is a friendly little café with 3 tables next to the entrance counter offering fresh tea.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Interesting museum and tour and lovely people we met on the tour too. Liked the mill that had been left the same as the day the staff moved out.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We started our tour in the museum where they had an exhibition on the first floor. We then met our guide Charlotte who took us to Paradise Mill and as we were only two people it really felt special. She was so so knowledgeable and really enjoyed explaining everything to us. After about one and a half hours we returned to the mill and had coffee and cake in the pretty little tea room. We then continued our visit to the museum and understood more as we had had the mill machines explained to us. Unfortunately we ran out of time so intend returning in the future.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silk Museum, Paradise Mill also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to The Silk Museum, Paradise Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silk Museum, Paradise Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.