We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit rough and ready” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Robin Hood Inn, Rainow

Robin Hood Inn, Rainow
Church Lane | Rainow, Macclesfield SK10 5XE, England
441625574060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 144 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Postcode SK10 5XE
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A bit rough and ready”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pleasant barman, good selection of beers.
However, the dining area was a bit barren and poorly furnished.
We had been tempted by the rather upmarket on-line menu.
In reality, it was OK, but pretty basic and rather poorly presented.
Inexpensive, so don't want to complain - just fell some way short of the expectations which their website had led us to anticipate.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here midweek and were the only people staying that night. It appeared the owners were away and this might have accounted for the rather lacklustre attitude. Once we had turned the heating on in our room it warmed up quite quickly but the bathroom remained freezing. The room was quite small but comfortable with lovely views of the Cheshire hills. Our evening meal in the pub was quite average, although the chips served with my lasagne were delicious! Breakfast was plentiful but it was impossible to get a hot cup of tea, despite 3 attempts!! I would say this is an OK place to spend a night if necessary but unfortunately I wouldn't rush to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Called in Sunday for a quick bite to eat and was greeted with "we only do Carvery on a Sunday" We looked at the menu and then at the Carvery and decided very quickly to give it a miss. The cobbled together heat lamp over the pre sliced meat and stewing vegatables was enough to put you off!! What has happened to the menu that was available last year? Apparently there is a new manager who is no where to be seen. Shame the place has lost its atmosphere and good home cooked food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place ,lovely atmosphere , great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here on New Years Eve, the bedrooms were lovely clean and warm with excellent views, did not eat in the restaurant . We joined in with the excellent New Years Party and were made to feel part of the village by both customers and staff.
Breakfast was excellent , served at a time of our choosing , which being New Years Day was late,,, Great Place highly recommended

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful- would stay again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of December. A lovely welcoming pub with friendly atmosphere, roaring log fire, happy locals complete with fireside dogs. The manager and staff were friendly and nothing was too much bother.
Stayed in the comfortable accommodation which was clean, modern and quiet. Beautiful views across the hills made this a relaxing break.
Breakfast was freshly prepared the following morning and what a pleasant experience. All in all a very enjoyable break and I would definitely return.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robin Hood Inn, Rainow also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Robin Hood Inn, Rainow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robin Hood Inn, Rainow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.