We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average pub food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Egerton Arms

Egerton Arms
Knutsford Road | Chelford, Macclesfield SK11 9BB, England
01625 861366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 147 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Price range: $33 - $41
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Nantwich
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Above average pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Last year I visited Jones Deli, which is a deli next to the Egerton Arms and was impressed with my purchases, so went back to try a meal there.

We were served promptly and the food came reasonably quickly. The waitress didn't seem to know what bouillabaisse was (it was on the specials board) and when it arrived it came without a spoon (which was quickly remedied). The bouillabaisse was very nice. My partner had a gluten free steak pie, which she said was ok.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    47
    16
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Welcome Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We called here for Sunday lunch, as we are now three weeks into a kitchen renovation, It was fantastic the beef was perfectly cooked, the pudding portions were a bit mean but otherwise really enjoyable meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than a 'pit stop' - home fro home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked a table on Saturday for a family catch as we all live in differant areas - Cannock, Northampton, Matlock and Macclesfeld, so we have to find somewhere easy to get to. As my brother is also a wheelchair user it can be difficult to find good facilities with decent food.
The Egerton Arms ticked all the boxes. The food was fantastic, the service excellent and the atmosphere extreemly comfortable. On top of that - a lovely gift of a bottle of bubbly to my sister in law who was celebrating her 50th birthday!!! Did I mention the food. . . . every dish beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. We will be making it a regular for our 'catch ups'!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food in comfortable surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Dropped in for lunch with a work companion and found it very busy at 12.15 on a Friday lunch time. Had no delay being shown to a table and our drinks order taken. Took a bit of time for the food order to be taken but we were not disappointed. Tortilla wrap of chicken with spicy mayo and a side salad was ample at lunchtime and my companions liver, bacon and sausage with mash was huge and tasty. Only grip was the need to pay extra for veggies. Definitely be back and probably would book next time to be sure. Interesting deli has opened next door.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We dined out with friends at this venue on a Saturday evening. they appeared to be very busy. We were immediately shown to our table, which we had previously reserved, by a very friendly and efficient member of the team who took our drinks order there and then. We ordered the ham eggs and chips which ok is traditional pub food at traditional pub food price but nevertheless was absolutely delicious. The ' boys' ordered the mixed grill which they also rated as absolutely scrumptious, we didn't have the starters on this occasion but had a desert instead, the kirsch trifle which was on the specials board was to die for and I would love for them to add it to their main menu. The host, who I presume must have been Jeremy, was in attendance and he came over and made us feel welcome and apologised about a noisy party who had been in earlier when we arrived, they were exhuberant Wigan fans who had just seen their team knock Macclesfield out of the FA cup, I get the feeling that they had been politely requested to be a little quieter, fortunately they were soon on their way home. I would recommend this pub/restaurant to anyone for the quality of food, friendliness and efficiency of staff and the overall ambience of the place. We shall certainly be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egerton Arms also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Egerton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Egerton Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.