We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Evening Out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangla Bangor

Bangla Bangor
Main Street, Bangor, Northern Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 133 Restaurants in Bangor
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Great Evening Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We decided to try this new Indian Restaurant in Bangor and were surprised and delighted to see the well known Ganges Restaurant owner in charge! Restaurants owned by Rob all serve good food and have done so for many years in Newtownards, Holywood, and Bangor.

This restaurant has a different type of cuisine, having more emphasis on dishes associated with home cooking. The new rustic style serving pots emphasize this trend. I tried a red lentil dish which was really excellent. It was good to see that there were lots more home style dishes to try!

Prices are quite high as rice and nan breads are all extras. Coffee at £3.90 per person added quite a bit to a the bill. However being able to bring your own wine helps to reduce the overall cost.

The restaurant has been newly decorated and nothing has been spared to give a great ambiance. I was pleased to see that the high quality refurbishment extended to the cloakroom facilities which were spaciously set out with attractively lit mirrors and the latest decor.

There is an early-bird menu which is more suited to the cost conscious but, as yet , there are none of the new home style dishes on it. Perhaps that might be a development for the future.

I think this restaurant has a great future. We had got into the habit of thinking of Indian food as a 'stay in evening' but all of a sudden, going out for Indian seems like a great idea!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    5
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A large group of us came for a birthday on Saturday night and everything was great. The food was really lovely and the service fantastic. The manager was friendly and attentive and all the staff pleasant. Had a great time looking forward to going again. Decor beautiful also and price was very reasonable. This restaurant is also bring your own with no corkage charge. Great night

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Went here with a party of 9 after the chef Kalam from our new favourite Indian restaurant Ganges Bangor mentioned that he is also a part of the team behind bangla s menu. Restaurant is beautifully designed service is great and true enough there on the menu were kalam's signature dishes which were very well presented. Restaurant is a little less intimate than Ganges and although great just a little less of elegance on the plate than Ganges. Def be back wow now we have two great Indian restaurants in Bangor. Happy days

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tastalicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I found Bangla Indian Restaurant to be very tastefully decorated (definitely one of the nicer ones in Bangor!), we had not booked but being middle of the week and quite early we were able to get a table. Food was exceptional, Service top class and cannot fault it in any way. We brought our own wine which kept the price of the bill down. Will definitely be back and look forward to trying the early bird menu. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor Co Down N Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I went there last Saturday night with friends and had a brilliant night out. Table was booked for 8.30 and the restaurant was totally full. We were shown to our table almost straightway. We had brought our own wine which we weren't charged corkage for so saved quite a bit. Decor is Indian and modern and pleasant
Our order was taken well and then they brought poppadoms and gorgeous chutneys. These were so different to other Indians not bright red and bright yellow weird chutneys, but tasty and fresh.
Our mains came and were served in lovely white trendy bowls and dishes. The food was great. We all had different choices and every dish was tasty. Good quality meat was used.
We also had starters and ice cream desserts. The service throughout was excellent. The atmosphere was excellent with many tables with large groups. We stayed until after 11 and there was no pressure to leave. Definitely will be back and recommend this place to everyone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangla Bangor also viewed

Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Bangla Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangla Bangor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.