We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B+B.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astala Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Astala Guest House to your Saves list
Astala Guest House
45-46 Queens Parade, Bangor BT20 3 BH , Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Bangor B&B and Inns
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great B+B.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here in July 2013, got a good rate and where very happy with the B+B. The rooms were modern and we had a front room looking over the Marina, Breakfast was good Was a few minutes walk from the town centre but still located on a very quiet street with no noise at night!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

our stay in the Astala guest house in Bangor was most enjoyable. Very comfortable accommodation overlooking the marina. Staff were very helpful and obliging. Breakfast was excellent. Room was spacious and clean. Overall was a very enjoyable experience. Rachelle, the manager was extremely helpful and accommodating.
Our thanks to all concerned. We look forward to returning again next year.
John and Sheila,
Australia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Astala Guest House is perfectly maintained, quiet and our twin room was large with a handicap accessible bath, which we did not need but gave extra room. A real plus, this B&B has an elevator which after carrying bags up and down stairs all over Ireland, was much appreciated. The location by the Harbor was great and an easy walk to many restaurants and bars.

Rachelle was ever so helpful. We had to get a very early start in the morning (before breakfast was served) and she insisted on giving us snacks for our room to have with coffee or tea in the morning. This is truly a good value and lovely residence.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a nice view of the Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We got a very good deal for one night in this lovely guest house. it was worth every penny we spent. The house is located in beautiful Victorian building right next to the harbour. It is a perfect location for exploring Bangor and a short drive to Belfast. Breakfast was also very tasty and staff is professional and helpful.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the harbour was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights it had a good central location. Warm welcome and given all the info we needed on arrival. The Room was ok but had an interconnecting door (room 1) . Breakfast was nothing to write home about but was perfectly acceptable. I would have given much higher ratings if we had stayed only 2 nights unfortunately on night 3 the adjoining room with the interconnecting door was in use . We were trying to sleep when the occupants arrived, the light shone brightly through the interconnecting door and whilst the occupants were not speaking loudly we could hear every word said including tv, tea making etc etc I felt that neither room offered any privacy and found it difficult to sleep due to the light and noise. So if you are not in either room 1 or 2 I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

After a long day touring, we checked in to this quaint little hotel. We had booked a the last minute the night before so our 4 rooms had no view, but the rooms were spotless, soft pillows, clean new bathroom, it was small, but well appointed. We had 4 rooms and would definitely stay here again. Shops and restaurants right there, nice walk along marina, nice respite from the hustle and bustle of Belfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here a few times, when it was called Beresford Guesthouse.
Host has kept a great guesthouse even better, which I thought was hard to beat. A real 4-5 star experience, at 3 star prices. Breakfast was lovely, Had a drink at the bar-very reasonable.
12 rooms, 4 with views over the marina. Quality of interior (both rooms and hallways) first class.
Cannot recommend enough. Had 2 other rooms in our booking, and both parties agreed one of the nicest guesthouses they have stayed in, especially given it's central location.

Room Tip: Try go for a view over the marina. Was cheaper to book via booking.com, then ringing the guesthouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astala Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astala Guest House

Address: 45-46 Queens Parade, Bangor BT20 3 BH , Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Astala Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astala Guest House Bangor, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astala Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.