We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Christmas Dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Goat's Toe

The Goat's Toe
Bingham Mall | 53 Main Street, Bangor BT20 5BQ, Northern Ireland
02891453959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 120 Restaurants in Bangor
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bangor's First Music and Eatery Room. Sample the best and newest ever changing line up of live music in Northern Ireland. Superb Bar/Bistro menu - Goats Toe Goujons in a Gravy boat a must try !Most fresh and happening bar and restaurant in town!
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing Christmas Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went here for our Christmas dinner. They clearly couldn't handle the amount of large tables for food. Starters were out very quickly but the rest seemed to take forever. After waiting almost an hour for desert we weren't too impressed. Although thr food was nice it was nothing special and very plain. Will be back for drinks but not again for food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    7
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Donaghadee, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Popped into this funky bar after a show in Belfast. Great beer and very entertaining 'paint pot' cocktails. Didn't order food due to the late hour, but the menu read well and have made a note to self to visit before Christmas. The atmosphere is great!!! A good mix of ages and backgrounds all there for the fun and amazing live entertainment. Twice I've been in on a weekend night, and twice I've heard truly polished and entertaining bands. Recommended!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service beyond belief ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Came here after work on Friday, had steak ciabatta and mrs had a starter for a main. First waiter was lovely, really nice bloke and we were going to leave a good tip, mrs really like the decor and atmosphere we were definitely going to come back. Unfortunately the waiter left half way through after this everything went downhill, service was completely neglectful being ignored for about 20minutes before ordering desert despite there being 3 people in the whole place? Plain rude. Guy brought out the wrong desert and grunted an apology the deserts were horrible, orange fudge cake was so dry I should have been £1. Really disappointed had potential to be a really nice venue if they pulled their fingers out and serviced the tables

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“casual drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice atmosphere for casual drinks with friends and friendly staff. Enjoyed the live music as well. Alternative decor. Good place for young and old who enjoy the bar scene

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

To be fair I had a reasonably pleasant evening, but the entire evening was ruined but the [--] door staff they have working.

We were served a round of drinks at 12:55, I told to leave at 1:03, when I objected to say we were allowed drinking up time I had my pint taken out of my hand and was quite forcibly evicted, I think personally this is absolutely shocking service, and I will not be returning. Unfortunately there appears to be nothing you can do about bouncers being [--].

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gareth m, Manager at The Goat's Toe, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I'm just seeing this now. Can you leave it with me and I will look into what happened.

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goat's Toe also viewed

 

Been to The Goat's Toe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goat's Toe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.