We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clandeboye Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
10 Estate Road | Clandeboye, Bangor BT19 1UR, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel recently and cannot be more positive about he experience. The staff, without exception, were welcoming, helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom and bathroom were both spotlessly clean and I had an extremely comfortable night's sleep in a very cosy bed. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. I had the cooked breakfast, which was served fresh to the table (not buffet style like many hotels) and, unlike buffet breakfasts, it was piping hot. I will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    106
    37
    13
    8
See reviews for
146
330
27
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
comber
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times. During our most recent stay we found the quality of the whole product remains excellent.
The rooms were, as always, spotless and well presented with large comfortable beds. The TVs have been updated to new super-slim LED screens.
Since our last stay the restaurant menu has been revised but remains varied. The food quality was very good and well presented and served by attentive and friendly staff.
We particularly enjoy breakfast in this hotel. There are many healthy options but a nice touch is that cooked breakfasts are cooked to order yet seem to arrive in minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a few times over the years & watched it develop & grow into a stylish little gem that even the staff talk proudly of. It is just tucked neatly away, off the main road between the popular seaside & marina town of Bangor and the now stunning & history steeped city of Belfast . Set in a rural location its peaceful whilst having superbly easy access to both Bangor which is just 5mins drive in one direction or Belfast just 15mins away in the other.The hotel facade now combines beams and pitched roofing with contemporary minimal lines & this easy mix runs to the interior. The Staff are extremely friendly , polite and competent . It was clear too talking to some of them that they take great pride in the reputation the hotel has earned.The food continues the trend with a lovely breakfast menu , of locally sourced ingredients & for those that don't wish to let the waistline expand over a few days break there are 3 delicious fruit/veg/herb power-drinks . I had one of each & can recommend all 3 .All meal choices we had were beautifully presented & prepared, and I can be fussy. Rooms I understand are work in progress and I understand that there is a refurb programme in place with new bathrooms etc already in some rooms. Ours was much as I last remembered but that's not to say it wasn't perfectly acceptable , it just looked like it was on decor catchup with the rest of the hotel. That said there is superslim digital flatscreen TVs in all rooms & the beds was super comfy & cotton bedlinen soft & clean. I stay in lots of hotels in UK & abroad travelling with work & personal leisure & would not hesitate to recommend this hotel . I will be back & look forward to seeing how they continue to develop

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lurgan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times and always look forward to the next visit. The staff in every department are well trained, efficient, helpful and courteous, in fact we could not praise them enough. The hotel accommodation is very comfortable and the ambience of the restaurant is very inviting with excellent food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels with my job as a sales rep.
I think this is one of the only hotels that actually act on those comment cards and take them seriously and I am very thankful for that.
The more I stay there the more I feel it's like home away from home.
Its so comforting to know all my needs will be met if at all possible.
I look forward to my next stay.
Wishing only the best for all the staff and this excellently run Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Since staying here I have booked the hotel for every forthcoming trip to Ireland. They have been more than helpful and having stayed in many hotels over the years. This hotel shines above all the others. I forgot my navigation and everyday they printed off directions for me. The food is lovely and the chef cooks a mean fish pie and their beef burger is a must. Overall faultless

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Overall Excellent Service. Suite was absolutely beautiful and staff were always very pleasant and helpful. Highly recommend staying in 1 of the suites, although the standard rooms are beautiful as well. Can't wait until our next stay!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clandeboye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Address: 10 Estate Road | Clandeboye, Bangor BT19 1UR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many small hotels in the Greater Belfast area but the Clandeboye Lodge - with its cosy and comfortable ambiance, contemporary design and exceptional service levels - is amongst those privileged to be recognised by both independent travellers and the AA as one of Northern Ireland’s top 4* hotels. Whatever your reason to stay, you can look forward to a well-deserved break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Clandeboye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandeboye Hotel Bangor
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clandeboye Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.