We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome back to the Carmichael family!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bryansburn Inn

Bryansburn Inn
149-151 Bryansburn Road | Bangor, Bangor, Northern Ireland
02891270173
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 138 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bangor, Co Down
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Welcome back to the Carmichael family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Carmichael family sold the Bryansburn some years ago and it did not take too long for the new proprioters to run the business into the ground.
However, the Carmichaels are back and it has taken them no time to restore the Bryansburn to the highest standards of food and drink providers.
We called in on a Tuesday evening with some Australian friends. The place was quite quiet but we were quickly shown to a table, food order taken and pre meal drinks delivered.
The menu choice is not over exciting but the food we ordered came quickly, hot, well presented and tasty.
Good to have the Bryansburn firing on all cylinders again.
Will be back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    45
    16
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Best thing about this place was the service from the waiting staff, the place was very busy with pre-xmas parties and the staff were very polite and seemed really happy! The food was great, huge portions, couldn't finish it all, will return in New Year!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“First time back in a long time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Has been very nicely redecorated, very friendly efficient staff and excellent service...food average for the price but this wouldnt put me off returning as there is a very varied menu so perhaps i just was unlucky.....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groomsport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Saturday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I called in for lunch a few days before Christmas. The service was excellent, friendly yet efficient. We both opted for the special of turkey and ham, and it was delicious. I had profiteroles for dessert and they were the nicest I have had for a long time. All in all the meal was excellent, and we look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice food but too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Me and my friend went Christmas Eve for some lunch , when we first arrived the man said food wasn't out till 12 and allocated a seat at the bar in which another man procured menus for us weird lol we were told different by another man ! I ordered the king prawns for starters which were really nice and then the ham burger which had cheese and pepper sauce with it and a portion of chips ! They were both beautiful ! The food was dear and is a lot cheaper elsewhere for a lot more ! But I would go back

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryansburn Inn also viewed

Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Bryansburn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryansburn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.