We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a dissapointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Phezulu - South African Grill Bistro - CLOSED

Phezulu - South African Grill Bistro
1 Queens Parade, Bangor BT20 5AG, Northern Ireland
028 9147 3373
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: African, Barbecue, Irish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: At Phezulu we are privileged to have the opportunity to create menus & recipes that showcase our own fusion of local taste & preference with traditional & modern South African flavours. With our core emphasis on Braaing (barbecueing) all our meats we strive to produce exciting flavoursome dishes that appeal to both South Africans & locals alike. A blend of carefully selected authentic South African ingredients with local fresh produce allows us to produce unique dishes that are full of character & flavour. Phezulu is located in the heart of Bangor in a prestigious landmark building above The Red Berry Coffee Company. Once you step inside Phezulu the sights and sounds will make you feel like you have been transported to the heart of Africa. At Phezulu we strive to give you an all round South African experience offering you an insight into authentic cuisine and even a selection of exotic meats such as Ostrich, Springbok, Crocodile & Zebra. For those of who prefer to play it safe we offer a variety of dishes that are sure to please - including our tasty Peri Peri chicken and our flavoursome seafood chowder.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“what a dissapointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

was talked into trying it again. sorry but still poor imitation of south african food.
service slow and choice poor, I like to travel and spend quite a lot of time in capetown and the south coast.
I won't be back twice was more than enough

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redberrycoffee, Owner at Phezulu - South African Grill Bistro, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Is this 100% genuine?????

I have contacted you on a number of occasions to clarify actual details of your visit, i.e time, date and the food you ordered - sadly I have received no response.

You have stated in you review that you visited Phezulu in September 2013 - I would like to point out that Phezulu was not open at all in September 2013. I fact it was not open the months either side of that as well!

So perhaps you could explain if and when exactly you dined with us and the items you ordered off our menu?

We do appreciate genuine feedback from actual customers so please do email us back info@phezulu.co.uk

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    13
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Co. Antrim
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Keep going back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Phezulu is a lovely little spot which doesn't seem to be ever packed out and believe me, it should!
Food is always fresh and varied and the speciality meats are really worth a try. Always a different side to experience and the menu does get changed so that I have something new to try.
BYOB is also good for a cheaper night.
The atmosphere and helpfulness of the staff are also a real plus.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“PHEZULU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a meal as a family on around 28th july, We had to pre-book our meals and i was a bit worried but all I can say everything was unbelieveable. Service was brilliant, the meal was excellent, steaks cooked to perfection cant wait to go again at the end of Sept for my husbands birthday. I will be there on Thursday night with my friend. Many thanks FREDA BELL

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely experience in Phezulu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went to Phezulu because we had the Living social voucher. I went with my boyfriend who is from South Africa so we were looking forward to it! We both really enjoyed our meal.. the nacho's starter was lovely as were the potato skins. I chose to have a curry for my main, I normally wouldn't get a curry at a restaurant but fancied a change - it was really nice! The restaurant itself looks lovely, very cosy and it pulls off the South African theme well! The background music was also very good. We experienced really good service from a young guy..very friendly!! We will definitely be going back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Dinner with my uncle from Joburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

As my uncle and his SA girlfriend were in town for a few days we wanted to take them somewhere authentically south African. We were all very impressed as the menu was well presented and varied however steaks were the common choice. Michelle went for a fish stew which she said was superb and my mug went for fish also which she really enjoyed. We had mixed starters and nachos to start which were both very good then the rest of us had the Boeres steak which was either a ribeye or a sirloin steak with a Boerewors sausage on top. It added a bit of spice to the steak and it came with a tasty gravy. I also went for a creamy peppercorn sauce which was fantastic.
The Food was very good as was the service. It is BYO restaurant so it worked out at around £20 a head which was perfect value. The food was a bit slow in coming but if you are with friends or family it gives you time to enjoy the atmosphere and the surroundings. I wouldn't recommend coming here with young kids as theist isn't really that kind of place and think Makhula it's much better for younger ones.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phezulu - South African Grill Bistro also viewed

Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phezulu - South African Grill Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.