We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangor Castle

Bangor Castle
Castle Park, Bangor BT20 4BN, Northern Ireland
44-28-9127-0371
Website
Improve this listing
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The wedding of my niece and her new husband, held at Bangor Castle, was lovely. The venue exceeded all expectations with regards to architecture and atmosphere. The grounds beautiful for photos and no- one rushing you out for the next ceremony. The Registrar was a lovely lady who made everything special and had time & patience with all. Definitely 5 star.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not really impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've lived about 10 miles from Bangor for a long time and have never felt the need to revisit Bangor Castle. It's not really worth a visit to be honest.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A TOWN HALL TO OUTCLASS ANY CASTLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ulster tourists must visit this historic building I liked it so much I even got married here back in 2007. The Union Flag flies and the staff are very informative and the Mayor Wesley Irvine even took time out to show us his chambers and personal office, where else but Bangor would you get that hospitality

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I recently got married at Bangor Castle. We had a very small, intimate wedding just close family, 9 in total and this venue was perfect. It rained heavily all day so unfortunately we didn't get a chance to have any photographs taken in the gardens but because we were the last wedding of the day we got plenty of opportunity at various locations within the castle. The registrar who married us, Clare, was just lovely, she put us totally at ease and worked miracles with our 8 year old daughter who did a reading but is usually very shy. Clare and the others members of staff were very helpful and accommodating with us and our photographer which we really appreciated since the weather was so bad. The stained glass window in the council chambers was a lovely backdrop to a lot of our photos.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great spot for weddings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

If your lucky to live about Bangor and want to get married at the Castle you will get some lovely pics of the wedding, if its sunny its a great back drop for pics with its sand stone building. and its floral gardens,.A nice place to walk the dog as well

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangor Castle also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Bangor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangor Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.