We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangor Castle

Bangor Castle
Castle Park, Bangor BT20 4BN, Northern Ireland
44-28-9127-0371
Website
Improve this listing
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I recently got married in Bangor Castle and it was a perfect location for my small wedding, it held all my guests comfortably and the setting of the grand room with the huge stain glass windows made for lovely pictures.
The registrar also helped to make the day perfect and he was very professional yet approachable.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Splendid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great to walk around the ouside of the castle, but inside it is a working council offices so you won't see a lot.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to get married”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We got married at the castle. The wedding room itself is not the post picturesque but the grounds more than make up for that.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very informative and enjoyable first visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This was a small but interesting museum - one of those places where the slower you took it, the more you enjoyed it. Slightly confusing route, even with the map in our hand, but that just made it more fun.
Didn't use the restaurant as we had lunch with us, but the prices looked very reasonable.
A visit to the walled garden was the high point. Don't think I've ever seen such a large well kept walled garden. Also no shortage of toilets in this area - we found four different ones altogether.
Other towns and local cities could take a leaf out of Bangor's books.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Will never be back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just after 1.00 pm the choices were very limited so we resorted to ordering a sandwich which left the servers very miffed.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangor Castle also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Bangor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangor Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.