We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Bangor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cairn Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Cairn Bay Lodge to your Saves list
The Cairn Bay Lodge
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   278 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5HS, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Bangor B&B and Inns
Baghdad, Iraq
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best in Bangor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have just stayed at the Cairn Bay Lodge for three nights over the weekend, while I was attending a course in Bangor, and I must say it is a Great B&B.
The breakfast is out of this world using all locally sources ingredients Chris and Jenny put on an exceptional spread for breakfast.
They are very genial hosts and nothing is two much trouble giving advice where to eat in the evenings.
Its the little touches that make all the differences ie the Tayto crisps in the room and the fresh cake on the landing each day.
I will be back in country in September and plan returning to the Cairn Bay for another weekend with my wife.
I Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
58
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edgecomb, Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is the only place you need to visit the Belfast region. The property sits right on Ballyholme Beach and is a very close walk to downtown Bangor, shopping, parks, and fabulous dinning. Chris and Jenny provide a wonderful setting in their timeless home complete with a fantastic gourmet breakfast in a beautiful dinning room. The rooms are spacious an well decorated with lovely private balconies and comfortable furnishings. Wifi can be weak in the room areas but you won't miss it! The lounge areas have eclectic but comfortable furnishings with a large back yard to enjoy as well. I wish I had stayed here for my entire Belfast visit as it is close enough to enjoy the city but quiet enough to actually relax (unlike the center of Belfast!) Their family atmosphere and warm welcomes make this a perfect place for a romantic get away or a family gathering. I hope to return to share this oasis with loved ones in the future! Do not hesitate to book here. The breakfast alone makes it worth while!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Hill, co armagh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Forget staying in a hotel, in Bangor the Cairn is the one & only place to stay! Chris and Jenny are Fabulous hosts, very friendly & helpful. Gorgeous spacious comfy rooms, with ensuite and beautiful views. As fir the breakfast it is second to none! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Cairn Bay Lodge for one night in May 2013. The hosts, Chris and Jenny, kindly upgraded us to a larger room. The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom had amazing organic products for us to enjoy.

The breakfast selection was great, we appreciated the variety offered as well as the fresh fruits, breads, cheeses and other tasty delights.

The off-street parking was valuable to us as we were travelling by car, the location of the B&B is great - nice view of the ocean and old homes in area.

Overall this was a 10/10 stay, we would recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to visit Bangor or the surrounding area, approximately 20min drive from Belfast (it may even be closer but we were tourists using a GPS!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was our first visit. We stayed for 3 nights. My wife is a Bangorian and never knew such a place existed until recently. Chris and Jenny are the perfect host and hostess. Stayed in Balcony room overlooking gardens at rear. Facilities were excellent with cleanliness set at a very high standard. Room large and comfortable. Breakfasts were amazing with regard to choice and presentation. We will have no hesitation in staying here again and would thoroughly recommend this guesthouse.

Robert and Hilary C
Ballymena
21st May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night when in Bangor visiting the in-laws. It was our first time staying here and we really enjoyed it. We had a great en-suite room with views over the garden. We really enjoyed watching the two dogs romp around the place having fun. The B & B is full of interesting bits and pieces in every room and there are a couple of lounges to relax in. The breakfasts are quite famous and you order what you would like to eat the night before. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was the second visit we have made to Cairn Bay Lodge. Chris and Jenny are the most helpful friendly hosts you could wish to meet. They can recommend places to eat and were happy to make reservations for us while we went off to enjoy ourselves. The house is superb and the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is a relaxed affair with superb food in a beautiful dining room. Bonnie and Clyde just topped the visit - we spent lots of time watching their antics in the garden!! We would not hesitate to recommend Cairn Bay to anyone and we will certainly be back. Keep up the good work - Penny and John

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cairn Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cairn Bay Lodge

Address: 278 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5HS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cairn Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Jenny Mullen welcome you to a guesthouse for the discerning traveler, set in extensive gardens directly overlooking Ballyholme Beach, offering the highest standard of food, accommodation and service. All en-suite rooms with either beach or garden views. Gourmet breakfasts, health and beauty treatments and shop stocking local crafts and produce. Winner N. Ireland Tourism Award Guesthouse of the Year 2006 and 2007, runner up 2008. Ideal base to tour Belfast and Ard Peninsula. Off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cairn Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cairn Bay Hotel
The Cairn Bay Lodge Bangor, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cairn Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.