We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cairn Bay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Cairn Bay Lodge to your Saves list
The Cairn Bay Lodge
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   278 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5HS, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Bangor B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best B & B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed at many bed and breakfasts. This one is set apart by the little extras - thoughtful snacks in the room and the hallway, toiletries in the room, extensive breakfast choices, etc. Beautiful waterfront location with miles to walk. Excellent, friendly hosts. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppypatricia, Owner at The Cairn Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Kam,
We appreciate your kind comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Chris and Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
58
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in August, had a great time, Chris and Jenny coped well with elderly parents as well as teenagers. Cairn Bay is a gem of an Edwardian house, with loads of original features. Breakfast was outstanding and the offer of cake and chocolates on the hospitality tray was well received by all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppypatricia, Owner at The Cairn Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Doha_Ringers,
Thankyou for your lovely comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that your Mum and Dad enjoyed their trip down 'memory lane'.
We hope to see you again sometime.
Kind regards,
Chris and Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Three mates on motorbikes stayed in August 2012. The food was outstanding, the architecture and decor brilliant and the hospitality was even better. Great attention was given to every minute detail. We had home made cherry cake in our room and a superb gourmet breakfast. Can't rate this hiighly enough. Many thanks Chris & Jenny

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppypatricia, Owner at The Cairn Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Rita and dmp,
We appreciate your kind comments especially the title of your review (possibly the best ever!)
You will have to come back and do another lap of Ireland soon!
Kind regards,
Chris and Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had stayed at Cairn Bay Lodge in 2011 and had no hesitation in returning (July 2012) when a relaxing night away was what we needed! Again we were made very welcome by Chris and Jenny. The room was great with no issues. Well stocked hospitality tray which was an old fashioned suitcase -class! Top class shower gel etc in the bathroom with lovely fluffy towels. Really lovely walk along the sea into Bangor and we were blessed with good weather. There is something for everyone couples and families alike. The best part again was of course the wonderful breakfast -excellent. Great choice for everyone and the quality - second to none! There is also a small shop where you can purchase apple juice and honey which is used at beaskfast, along with other quirky gifts. Well done Chris and Jenny on your wonderful business, just what Northern Ireland needs for those visiting from further afield.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppypatricia, Owner at The Cairn Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Hopper,
Thanks for the lovely review. It is always great to see guests coming back for more!
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Chris and Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Staqyed here for 2 nights before heading south. The hotel is a bit old fashioned to my liking but everyone's taste is different. The room that we had could have done with a bit updated i.e. beds etc. although it didn't take awsay a nights sleep. The proprietors were very helpful and I have to say the breakfast was one of the best that we had in Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nothern ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My Mum and I have just returned from a week's stay in Cairn Bay Lodge and I can't recommend it highly enough! I had fairly high expectations beforehand due to reading other reviews here and these were even surpassed. There are just so many thoughtful, creative and tasteful touches that you feel the owners (Chris and Jenny) have anticipated and catered for your every need. This is also displayed in the efficient, yet warm and friendly service that you receive during every moment of your stay. The décor combines a fascinating range of antique furniture, natural artefacts and quirky finds with luxurious, modern and spotless facilities. I could go on at length about the little details (such as the cute little dishes with "Please Don't Leave") to the amazing breakfast choice (and quality) but it's better to leave some surprises for the first time visitor. Cairn Bay Lodge is deservedly included in the 2012 Best Hotels Handbook along with several other awards. I'm already planning when I can return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppypatricia, Owner at The Cairn Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Luka and Mum,
Thankyou for your kind comments, it is great to get such positive feedback and we are glad that you both enjoyed your stay with us.
We enjoyed looking at your lovely photos too!
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Chris and Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The breakfast here was the best of our trip! There was a huge array of fresh fruit, cheeses, bread, jams, honey, homemade smoothie, granola, etc., in addition to the hot dish. We tried the Eggs Benedict and the Smoked Salmon Omelet. Everything was delicious. The breakfast room was lovingly and beautifully decorated. I would return for the breakfast alone!
The setting is beautiful and the family was warm. My parents had a lovely sea view; I had a garden view. Quirky, a little kooky or eclectic, interestingly decorated. I liked the covered dish of carrot cake. Pretty garden.
Big, fluffy towels, hot shower, spa soaps and shampoo.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cairn Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cairn Bay Lodge

Address: 278 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5HS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cairn Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Jenny Mullen welcome you to a guesthouse for the discerning traveler, set in extensive gardens directly overlooking Ballyholme Beach, offering the highest standard of food, accommodation and service. All en-suite rooms with either beach or garden views. Gourmet breakfasts, health and beauty treatments and shop stocking local crafts and produce. Winner N. Ireland Tourism Award Guesthouse of the Year 2006 and 2007, runner up 2008. Ideal base to tour Belfast and Ard Peninsula. Off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cairn Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cairn Bay Hotel
The Cairn Bay Lodge Bangor, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cairn Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.