We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tapas outside of Spain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ava Grill Restaurant

The Ava Grill Restaurant
132 Main Street, Bangor BT20 4AG, Northern Ireland
028 9146 5490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 133 Restaurants in Bangor
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Tapas, Café, Wine Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Ava Grill & Tapas serves top quality food in a modern and relaxed setting in the heart of Bangor. It’s open seven days a week for both breakfast,lunch, early birds and dinner. Itoffers a diverse range of menus including blackboard specials and a la carte - perfect for families and couples. The food is freshly cooked with an emphasis on seafood, steaks and salads complete with a tempting wine selection.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Best tapas outside of Spain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The tapas here is excellent and compares very favourably with high quality tapas in Spain. The staff are friendly and helpful and there is a huge selection of tapas items to select from. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    78
    24
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Why haven't I been here before?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to the Ava for dinner with my wife at 6.30 pm after shopping mainly because it was the closest eatery to where we ended up. I had noticed it quite a few times on my way past heading into the town but never thought about trying it for a meal possibly because I remembered the old Ava which was very run down and full of old blokes with pints in their hand.
How things have changed! This place is a gem great surroundings with a good atmosphere and comfortable furniture. The menu is good and appears to cater well to all tastes. When we arrived we were told that it was steak night (Thursday) and that a shared portion of ribs and two steaks were £25, initially I thought £25 per head was fair enough for a starter and a large steak but it was £25 per couple, what a bargain! The ribs were coated in breadcrumbs with what tasted like a hoisin sauce as a side and we both got a finger bowl all of which was very nicely presented. The ribs were delicious especially with the sauce. The steaks were large and cooked exactly as we requested and we chose chunky chips as a side (you can choose one side order with the steak) it was again very well presented and tasty. the steak came with a small jug of pepper sauce, onions and mushrooms. The staff were very attentive and pleasant. We will definitely be back very soon and we even discussed making it a regular occurrence. Give it a try you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Mother's Day treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Went to Ava for Sunday Lunch and it was excellent , staff where brilliant & bubbly. Also some toys , crayons & paper to keep the nippers occupied. Will definitely return.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Mother's Day treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I had not been to Ava restaurant for a while and booked it as Mothers Day treat for my mum at lunchtime on Saturday. Received warm welcome from staff. Great selection on the menu if you just want a lite bite or something more substantial. I went for two course lunch at £9.25 really good value for money and was delicious. My mother was able to order a sandwich which came with fries which was plenty for her to eat and my daughters got lite bite selection.

It is comfortable relaxing surroundings and I will certainly be back again. My Mother really enjoyed her day.






Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, N. Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a great wrigglly wrigglly worm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

There's a so true saying the 'early bird gets the worm'....what a great wee early bird menu for £9.95.....we have been here quite a few times now but it's the first time we went for the eb.....though we must say it's not that early on the finishing time, which made it easier to visit after we got home from work.

Great portion sizes for your money.....the mushroom starter was a full plate and our main courses, chilli chicken and southern fried chicken goujons/ribs served with chunky chips....both perfect!....though KFC should watch out for the Ava SFC!!!

Our waitress, Claire, was very friendly and very helpful in sorting out our evening and wine.....service for the early bird was not in the slightest different from when we have gone for the full menu on previous occasions.

Means we will be visiting more often now and less cooking!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ava Grill Restaurant also viewed

Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to The Ava Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ava Grill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.