We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teddys

Teddys
1 Castle Street, Bangor, Northern Ireland
02891 458455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 138 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

First visit at Teddys for the 2 course earlybird special at £12 and we will be back!, great food, reasonably priced, generous portions, and all great quality. Would like to try the Sunday lunch soon.
Staff very friendly and helpful too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    34
    21
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect party venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had my husband's 60th birthday party in Teddy's last night, and had a truly fantastic experience. Organising it couldn't have been easier as the friendly and professional staff did absolutely everything - all we had to do was turn up with our 60 guests!! We had all of the downstairs restaurant at our disposal - a lovely room in itself with great ambience, and the staff were happy for us to add our own touches with balloons, bunting etc - again they helped with everything - nothing was too much trouble. Right from the start there was a real buzz, and all our friends and family commented on what a great venue it was.
And then the food - the excellent chef was great about recommending dishes that would work - we settled on a selection of mains - a Thai beef curry, chicken in a white wine and tarragon sauce, and a vegetarian moussaka (which was a big hit even with the carnivores!!). The food was really outstanding - and all served with a selection of chunky chips, rice, salad and delicious sundried tomato bread, baked fresh that day. And all excellent value for money too!
But the real stars were the staff - hard-working, friendly and a real credit to the restaurant.
Thank you so much for making my husband's birthday party such a tremendous success - I couldn't recommend your facilities, hospitality and food any more strongly!! And we look forward to enjoying many more visits to the restaurant for dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Having asked a work colleague or a recommendation for Sunday lunch in Bangor we took the elderly parents having first checked the menu on line. First impressions were good however having read the Sunday lunch menu the roast chicken with bread stuffing was not available which concerned me as my mother-in-law only likes plain chicken. I mentioned this to the waiter who went and checked and came back to say the kitchen old do chicken. Myself and my father-in-law ordered roast beef which was lovely with all the trimmings. The chicken was less so as it was a chicken fillet very well one with no stuffing.

The lunch deal included dessert however on line stated berry crumble and sticky toffee pudding neither of which were available on the menu given to us today. Again this was disappointing.

Overall the food was good but I feel an overlooked chicken breast and lack of continuity between the website and restaurant let it down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yum yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had Sunday lunch here today excellent food excellent value and great service when asked for something not on menu it was no problem for the staff

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland-UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not bad at all,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had never been here before but my partner had a voucher so we tried it on a bank holiday Monday, the menus selection wasn't huge but they were in the midst of changing it and there were no specials due to it being a bank holiday, My meal was very enjoyable and although a but pricey with the voucher it helped, I may try it again when its not a holiday period. The staff was very nice and explained the menu situation. A Blind man was there whilst we were there and he explained the menus options with him with great patience.
NB: The place was spotless and toilets were clean as a whistle, which says a lot about an establishment.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teddys also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Teddys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teddys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.