We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Essence

Cafe Essence
17A Hamilton Road, Bangor BT20 4LF, Northern Ireland
028 9145 4470
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 129 restaurants in Bangor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“surprisingly Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My partner and I have visited cafe essence five or six times over the last few years and have noticed a steady increase in prices as well as a decline in quality of food and portion sizes , and although the dishes on the menu get shuffled around a little , it never really changes . This visit we noticed that the rack of lamb which has up to now always featured as part of the main menu (which is two courses for £22 ) has now made its way on to the specials blackboard with a £4 supplement , the other specials on the board were mainly seafood and game , We both chose the scallops with parsnip purée and bacon lardons and garlic as a starter ( £4 extra) I had the Hake with prawns as my main (£6 extra ) and my partner had the sirloin steak which was believe it or not £8 extra , so our very reasonable two courses for £22 suddenly became a not so reasonable two courses for £33 per person which makes it slightly more expensive than the culloden . on the plus side it is a BYO which is probably the reason while they're still busy on the weekend .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    84
    20
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
n.ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not so cheap night out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

decor was very poor and prices were fairly high taking all into consideration although service and food were fairly good

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangor
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Chris's fish dishes - delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Well worth the trek up the narrow stairs, to be welcomed by Rosie, who'll look after your BYO drinks, and advise you on the menu of the evening. The buzz of conversation from other diners (almost always full tables) adds to the atmosphere created by the gentle non-intrusive background music. A MUST for fish lovers especially. Would warrant 6 stars if it wasn't for the stairs!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food.. little on the pricey side for the specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a lovely meal on saturday and the fact that it's BYO is a major plus point! The standard menu of £21 for two courses is exceptionally reasonable but if you want to try the fish, which its famous for, the price starts to add up. Given its a v small restaurant and not THAT fancy I feel this pushes the price up into territory only warranted in far fancier restaurants. However, I cannot in any way fault the food as it was gorgeous. Esp the Peanut butter ice cream tart.. that's to die for!

I would actually suggest taking an earlier sitting because once the place filled up it was so noisy it was hard to have a conversation with the person you were sitting opposite.

All that said I will most definitely be back... very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Debbie Gray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just home from another amazing night at my most favourite restaurant.Every thing was fab. Our starters of scallop s and piri piri prawns were excellent .Our mains of sirlion,monkfish. And trio of fish were to die for !! .Dont need to tell you Rosie.but we all had a great night !! Dined everywhere but still our favourite restaurant ever. See you soon .Also service perfect . X

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Essence also viewed

Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Cafe Essence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Essence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.