We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trefeddian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trefeddian Hotel
Save
You added Trefeddian Hotel to your Saves list
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0SB , Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Breaks
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Brilliant Hotel. The food was excellent. There was lots to do in the complex, tennis, swimming, table tennis, putting. It was brilliant to be able to take our dog. We had lots of long walks along the beach. We were a large family group of all ages.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    64
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
71
88
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have just returned from our fourth annual visit. On each occasion we have found the food to be of a very high standard and the service generally also very good. On this visit, however, the housekeeping did not live up to the standards set in front of house and in the dining room. The shower head was broken, a light bulb needed replacing and a curtain was detached from a runner. In addition, the in house on screen TV menu had not been updated following an apparent recent retuning. Although most of these faults were quickly rectified, a rigorous pre-occupation room inspection by the housekeeper would have avoided the complaints and consequent irritation. Despite these criticisms, we intend to return next year when perhaps we can rate the Trefeddian as "Excellent" rather than "Very Good".

Room Tip: Unless you must have a sea view, choose a room with a hill view and save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welshpool UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed several times, usually weekends at this large hotel facing the Irish sea and Aberdyfi golf course. We found the staff friendly and professional, the food very good & we will go again. Plenty of good walks along sea and dunes and Aberdovey is still relatively unspoilt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A weekend away at the Treffidion was just what we needed. (Except for torrential rain and floods, not the hotels fault of course)
This time we booked rooms overlooking the hills at the back of the hotel, and the size of the rooms and bathroooms were larger than the sea view rooms we have had on previous visits and cheaper too.
The food as ever is very good and the menu just as varied. Cleanliness in all rooms is first class.
Most of the staff are very friendly, but unfortunately there were a couple of grumpy ones but they didn't spoil our enjoyment.
A downside for next year is that rooms with balconys will cost more, this I feel is a little money grabbing as rooms with a balconys do not have showers. Nevertheless we will go back.
If you have never stayed here then you have missed a treat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Recently returned from a superb stay at the lovely trefeddian hotel.
It was our return visit, we stayed for short winter break early this year to get away from all the hussle & bussle back at home, my wife is doctor, and I work away a lot so we both wanted a weekend away.

We stayed in one of superior rooms on the 4th floor sea facing, stunning coastal views of cardigan bay and the golf course.
The room was spotless, spacious and quiet! and the chambermaid was friendly and helpfull.

The quality of the food never disapoints In the dining room, don't think I ever had so much choice of food to choose from, always varied every evening as well, all the staff are polite and well trained. My wife has a shell fish allergy we kindly asked reception to get a menu marked up by the head chef every evening, which we were very gratefull for!!

Great facilities; in door pool, tennis court which we were tempted by but the weather wasn't Playing ball ( pardon the pun ) so instead we indulged on afternoon tea, and relaxed and enjoyed the peaceful surroundings of the lounges.
And then enjoyed a pleasant sea side walk down the Beach towards towyn.


The free wifi on the ground floor is good addition, maybe could have the use in the rooms as well..

All in all we couldn't fault our stay, truly stunning location and a wonderfull hotel,
thank you Trefeddian, we shall be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is the first time we have stayed at The Trefeddian Hotel but it certainly will not be our last. The service from the moment we walked in to the time that we left was absolutely perfect. The hotel is well booked throughout most of the year and it is easy to see why. The sea view from our room was fantastic and the 5 course meals were amazing. The hardest decision each day was which choices to have for the evening meal! The lounges were perfect for relaxing after or before meal times and the bar was well stocked with many beers wines and spirits.

There is a swimming pool there as well but with everything else going on we just did not get the time to try it out this time but will have a look the next time we stop.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have stayed at the Trefeddian Hotel for a number of years, mostly long weekends. There is a feeling of quiet efficiency coupled with traditional values that greets us each time we arrive, together with a warm welcome. Our rooms have always been comfortable and very clean, always plenty of storage space. The beds are well made with blankets, sheets and bed covers rather than duvets and sheets and very comfortable, so we always enjoy a good night’s sleep. The food has always been very high quality with a wide ranging choice for breakfast and dinner. Dinner is 5 courses and I cannot remember having the same meal twice. All the food appears locally sourced and is very fresh. The new digital televisions in the rooms and the free wi-fi on the ground floor are welcome additions. The manager tells me they are hoping to extend the free wi-fi to all rooms by next year. This would certainly add to the enjoyment of the facilities. The small swimming pool is always clean and a pleasure to use. I had hoped that they would stock one or two local welsh beers in the bar but I was disappointed, let’s hope they take the hint. Overall we find the hotel comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable and will continue to visit as long as we are able.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on 4th floor cost a little more but are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trefeddian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefeddian Hotel

Address: Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0SB , Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdovey
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trefeddian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.