We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accomodation in a very pretty location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Penhelig Arms to your Saves list
Penhelig Arms
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Chelmsford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely accomodation in a very pretty location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed at the Penhelig Arms for one night on a business trip. The room was small, but very comfortable, with a great view over the Estuary. All the staff I met were very kind and helpful, particular, when I telephoned after my stay, when I suspected that I had left something in the room. I received great service over this matter, and although the item was not at the hotel, they could not have done more to help me.
Breakfast was great, freshly cooked, with a fabulous selection to suit all tastes.
I dont often visit this part of the UK, but would recommend the hotel, and would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    100
    50
    19
    14
See reviews for
35
207
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had a two night break in March. More than happy with the accommodation and service. Upgraded to the four unit house at rear of hotel which was lovely and quiet with great views of the coast. The food was exceptional and as we had our dog with us we were required to eat in the bar instead of the restaurant. It was the same menu so no problems there and the bar has a great atmosphere. Aberdovey and surrounding area lovely and some great walking country direct from the hotel. Would definitely stay at Penhelig Arms again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great hotel/pub, accommodation was way beyond expectation, we were in the millennium building above the pun, very roomy, light exceptional level of comfort, loved the under floor heating in the bathroom. Five star accommodation.
The food is fabulous well presented and freshly cooked. Also a breakfast to die for.
The pub area is very comfortable, lovely fire, great staff, and every one was friendly, we all sat chatting.

Couldn't fault this place and well done to all the staff.

Room Tip: Millenium rooms above the pub fantastic facilities and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed at The Penhelig Arms during February, it was our 2nd stay and we were very much looking forward to our time there , we were not disappointed. On booking we asked for the room that we had stayed in before (room 3 ), it is a lovely room with a dressing area, lovely bathroom and fantastic views over the estuary.
We ate in the restaurant on our 1st evening, my husband had the seared scallops with crispy pork belly for starters, it was an amazing dish, good wine selection and good service.
Breakfast was good with lovely FRESH fruit salad and a good choice of cooked breakfasts. The bar area is very welcoming with a roaring log fire and all staff very attentive.
We are looking forward to a return visit later this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a suite overlooking the estuary with its everchanging scene according to the tides. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. The room and its en-suite were extremely clean and spacious. The staff were very welcoming and the food was really good with generous portions. Had we not had duties which meant we had to return home, we would have certainly stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was one of those deals where sometimes you take your chance - however, this was a gem of a place. We were fortunate to have the 'little house' attached to the Hotel, two storey, great lounge, three double settes, television and Bose sound system, dining area and shower room. Upstairs, an impressive kingsize bed, another double settee, television and massive on suite with both a large bath and a separate shower - this was some of the best value accommodation we have ever stayed in - the accommodation to ask for at Penhelig Arms - well worth the additional premium.
The bar was great and atmospheric, the restaurant brilliant with a simple but comprehensive menue, well cooked food and most enjoyable wine.
We have already recommended a number of friends to visit and hope to return ourselves - well done to both the friendly and efficient management and staff - as stated a gem of a place to be discovered in Aberdovey.

Room Tip: Pay an additional relatively small amount and ask for the 'little house' attached to the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed 2 nights here at the beg of feb and as soon as we arrived we rec a fab welcome. Food is amazing , pricey but very good . We stayed in the most gorgeous room , it was huge :) the staff are lovely and very helpful . Would def love to stay again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Address: Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey
Penhelig Arms Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penhelig Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.