We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Penhelig Arms to your Saves list
Penhelig Arms
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A disappointing visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My 15th visit was not the best . Room 6 is small but ok but paint is falling off of the radiator andthe shower bulb that was broken last visit still not replaced.The food choice and quality have bothdeclined (starter choice one night eg pea soup or 3 pate/terrines)Staff although mainly new were very friendly and helpful however The breakfasts were good but the hotel was very quiet apart from our group as was the bar which is normally buzzing. Views over the estuary are superb and the overall location is perfect but the WOW factor has dis appeared since the family who owned this facility sold out 3 or 4 years ago

Room Tip: Not room 6 Pay more for Bodhelig i suggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    100
    50
    19
    14
See reviews for
35
207
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here with two visitors from abroad and we all found it to be a pleasant experience. The bedrooms are very well appointed and clean. Sea view rooms are especially pleasant. The building is old and with character but has been renovated where appropriate. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. I note there are a few comments on carparking but Aberdovey is a small village: with just a little forethought this is not a problem. There are plenty of spaces very close if the carpark opposite the hotel is full. The terrace area to the rear and side of the hotel is a wonderful facility, affording excellent views over the estuary. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Sea view would be good if available.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Four of us fad a two day break here. The rooms were small but comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. We had two evening meals, one in the restaurant and on in the bar. The food in both was of a high standard and very good value for money. The breakfasts were also very good. We had intended eating one meal at the Dyfi Inn but even though it was Saturday night in a tourist area they stopped serving at eight o clock. At the time we were annoyed but in the end we had a better meal in the Penhelig.
Th hotel has a new staff and manager and they have made a big difference to a hotel that had a few problems in the past. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay or a meal to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed one night a Penhelig Arms and was shown to room 3 which was beautiful. A lovely big room which included seating arranged to show off the view of the bay through the window. The bed was really comfortable and the large bathroom a delight. Excellent meal in the bar that evening and a very comfortable sleep in the large bed. Breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful. Many thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival at the hotel I was greeted by a very welcoming and friendly member of staff. They explained everything from the location of my room to bar and restaurant times and facilities. They also explained about the local area and places to visit.
There was a good variety of drinks available and a lovely menu for the bar meals and restaurant all served to a high standard and presented well.
The room was very well laid out with all you could need for your stay. Very comfortable bed and lovely views of the bay.
Good variety to choose for breakfast and the cooked breakfast was very tasty and set me up for the day ahead.
Overall a fantastic hotel, with lovely, welcoming staff and a very pleasant break in Aberdyfi.
Thank you very much Penhelig Arms, will be calling again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times and the food is very good.

If you are lucky enough to eat here do order the scallops. They are perfect - never over cooked; never under cooked!

Great food and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

On a short break in wales on the motorcycle and stayed on 1st may in main part of hotel, great value and a very friendly bar. Food was excellent the sirloin steak was cooked to perfection. It was so nice that other visitors to the area came into the bar and where very friendly
Would go back but would try and stay in the suites on the top levele, great views
A credit to the staff
Richard

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Address: Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey
Penhelig Arms Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penhelig Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.