We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penhelig Arms

Save Saved
You added Penhelig Arms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penhelig Arms
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Malvern
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A party of eight walkers - older rather than younger - had a very pleasant weekend at the Penhelig Arms.
Welcome and service was attentive and friendly
Rooms more than adequate with lots of hot water
Food in the restaurant exceptional
Recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    93
    50
    18
    13
See reviews for
34
187
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We've stayed twice. We have always asked for a room in the Bohdelig, which is a modern annex built above the main hotel so has great views out over the estuary - in fact all 4 Bohdelig rooms have private balcony and views. They are also dog friendly and have private parking.
First time it was bitterly cold January 2011 and the room, and indeed the hotel, was as warm and snug as I would want (and I like my warmth).
The rooms are well appointed boutique style, large comfy bed, comfy sofa and chairs for 'chilling' and a warm bathroom with enormous shower. We just wanted comfort to laze around in. Only possible downside is walking outside and down steps to main hotel.
Hotel staff were lovely, home-made cookies and real milk (not those nasty plastic 'doses') were bought to our room on arrival, and they were always friendly and courteous. Local produce on the menu and good breakfast choice.
Aberdovey or Aberdyfi: Aber - mouth of, dyfii - river Dyfi, is a small town, built between rocky hillside and the estuary, neat and tidy with some interesting architecture (seaside residences to fisherman's homes) and very pleasant to stroll along the 'front' and the harbour. It is home of The Braided Rug Company and a rather nice interiors shop.
It is also a stop on the scenic Welsh Coast Railway which we have yet to 'do'. I have it on good authority that it is well worth a ride. Actually the railway is very close to the rear of the Bohdelig but we didn't find it a nuisance.
Absolutely no hassle when we took the hound on our second trip.
Certainly recommended.

Room Tip: I can only recommend the Bohdelig annex - upper floor has best views. May get noise from railway in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Last weekend my husband & I spent 3 nights at the Penhelig Arms as a base to explore the Snowdonia National Park and call in to my old university town of Aberystwyth
We had a very good rate for 3 nights B & B in what was described as a "small double" room in the main building, there appears to be some rather more swanky appartments attached next to the main building for those who want a bit more luxury.
The place itself is a kind of hybrid pub/restaurant/hotel with a lovely traditional feel about it and set right on the seafront, in the most lovely setting about a 5 - 10 minute stroll away from the centre of the town.
The room had a gorgeous sea view, and although it wasnt the largest room I have stayed in, it was perfectly adequate for 3 nights, very comfortable and I have certainly stayed in smaller rooms that didn't describe themselves as "small".
Chris & Rick, the proprietors were lovely, and had a gorgeous dog, Felix. The place is very dog friendly.
There is a cozy bar attached which seems popular with locals and guests alike and serves real ale and a surprisingly impressive array of gins.
We had breakfast every morning, and I managed to have something different each day, the usual cooked breakfast was nice but I would parcularly recommend the fish (smoked haddock or smoked salmon - both delicious)
We ate in the restuarant just on the saturday, which is I think anyway beautifully and simply decorated with lots of pictures of the local scenery and we had a lovely meal (again, I would particularly recommend the fish) with a good selection of wine at a reasonable price
As for Aberdovey itself, of course we were out of season, but its a really pretty place and the Dovey Arms does a decent basic pub meal and is open 7 days if you just want something simple to eat after a long walk
We were really lucky with the weather and this is a particularly stunning part of the world to explore, from which the Penhelig Arms made a perfect base for us.
Will definitely try to make it back next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We went to Aberdovey by accident. We wanted to stay in Aberystwyth, but all the hotels were booked. The closest place was the Penhelig Arms.
We discovered a very nice and comfortable hotel, nicely located by the sea.
We really appreciated the dedication of the personnel, the decoration and the food in the restaurant.
The rooms are large and very functional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herefordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Enjoyed our break.hotel very comfortable.Food excellent.complimentary amenities much appreciated.Dog made very welcome.Coming back next year.booked already. really nice location.good walks and nice scenery.Aberdovey town nice to potter around,very friendly,lovely little shops and cafes too.

Room Tip: Really nice location.limited car parking.had small double room,going for an apartment behind hotel n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here recently for my girlfriend's graduation in nearby Aberystwyth University in July. We rented the pent house that comfortably slept five with a self contained bedroom and two sofa beds. The apartment was tastefully decorated with spectacular sea views featuring a dinning room and lounge. The two shower rooms made it convenient to get ready on the day of the graduation.
Would recommend staying here again, only problem was that we couldn't spend longer here.
Also enjoyed a few drinks in the bar and excellent meal in the restaurant that specialises in locally caught fresh fish.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed one night in the small double sea-view room. There was a small free car park in front of the hotel for about 5-6 cars which was useful for us. The room was cosy with a modern shower, tv, coffee making facilities. The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and included full cooked breakfast or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which was all cooked perfectly.

There is free Wifi at the hotel but this was very intermittent in the room itself which was a little annoying. Also when we arrived the staff were not overly welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Address: Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey
Penhelig Arms Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penhelig Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.