We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base to explore and relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Penhelig Arms to your Saves list
Penhelig Arms
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Wales UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore and relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Last weekend my husband & I spent 3 nights at the Penhelig Arms as a base to explore the Snowdonia National Park and call in to my old university town of Aberystwyth
We had a very good rate for 3 nights B & B in what was described as a "small double" room in the main building, there appears to be some rather more swanky appartments attached next to the main building for those who want a bit more luxury.
The place itself is a kind of hybrid pub/restaurant/hotel with a lovely traditional feel about it and set right on the seafront, in the most lovely setting about a 5 - 10 minute stroll away from the centre of the town.
The room had a gorgeous sea view, and although it wasnt the largest room I have stayed in, it was perfectly adequate for 3 nights, very comfortable and I have certainly stayed in smaller rooms that didn't describe themselves as "small".
Chris & Rick, the proprietors were lovely, and had a gorgeous dog, Felix. The place is very dog friendly.
There is a cozy bar attached which seems popular with locals and guests alike and serves real ale and a surprisingly impressive array of gins.
We had breakfast every morning, and I managed to have something different each day, the usual cooked breakfast was nice but I would parcularly recommend the fish (smoked haddock or smoked salmon - both delicious)
We ate in the restuarant just on the saturday, which is I think anyway beautifully and simply decorated with lots of pictures of the local scenery and we had a lovely meal (again, I would particularly recommend the fish) with a good selection of wine at a reasonable price
As for Aberdovey itself, of course we were out of season, but its a really pretty place and the Dovey Arms does a decent basic pub meal and is open 7 days if you just want something simple to eat after a long walk
We were really lucky with the weather and this is a particularly stunning part of the world to explore, from which the Penhelig Arms made a perfect base for us.
Will definitely try to make it back next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    100
    50
    19
    14
See reviews for
35
205
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liege, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We went to Aberdovey by accident. We wanted to stay in Aberystwyth, but all the hotels were booked. The closest place was the Penhelig Arms.
We discovered a very nice and comfortable hotel, nicely located by the sea.
We really appreciated the dedication of the personnel, the decoration and the food in the restaurant.
The rooms are large and very functional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herefordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Enjoyed our break.hotel very comfortable.Food excellent.complimentary amenities much appreciated.Dog made very welcome.Coming back next year.booked already. really nice location.good walks and nice scenery.Aberdovey town nice to potter around,very friendly,lovely little shops and cafes too.

Room Tip: Really nice location.limited car parking.had small double room,going for an apartment behind hotel n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here recently for my girlfriend's graduation in nearby Aberystwyth University in July. We rented the pent house that comfortably slept five with a self contained bedroom and two sofa beds. The apartment was tastefully decorated with spectacular sea views featuring a dinning room and lounge. The two shower rooms made it convenient to get ready on the day of the graduation.
Would recommend staying here again, only problem was that we couldn't spend longer here.
Also enjoyed a few drinks in the bar and excellent meal in the restaurant that specialises in locally caught fresh fish.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed one night in the small double sea-view room. There was a small free car park in front of the hotel for about 5-6 cars which was useful for us. The room was cosy with a modern shower, tv, coffee making facilities. The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and included full cooked breakfast or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which was all cooked perfectly.

There is free Wifi at the hotel but this was very intermittent in the room itself which was a little annoying. Also when we arrived the staff were not overly welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipping campden
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

As always, beautiful bedroom with lovely views and first-class meal in restaurant......only criticism very poor first impression as you enter the hotel......not very welcoming and could do with an update on decor; maybe new flooring, flowers and a smile otherwise really excellent and we will return next year!

Room Tip: Sea view on first or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked in for an evening meal,and were very dissapointed with the lack of enthusiasm from the staff and the meal itself.A few lessons in customer service would not go amiss,needless to say we will not be re- visiting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Address: Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey
Penhelig Arms Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penhelig Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.