We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lookout

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lookout
Save
You added The Lookout to your Saves list
6 Glandyfi Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just got back from a week at the lower deck and we had a fabulous stay.

The lookout is perfect. It has the feel of a good hotel and yet has all the facilities and space you need from an apartment. The views across the beach are stunning and the accommodation could not be better positioned.

We have been coming to Aberdovey for many many years and the lookout will be our first choice for future trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
78
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is the second visit we've made to this outstanding apartment. The view is magnificent, the apartment clean, modern and spacious and Jules and Lisa are the perfect hosts. Fans of Aberdyfi will need no introduction to the attractions of the area but this really is the perfect location to stay. The unique aspect is the combination of comfort with an ever - changing view across the estuary that left us feeling calm and happy. A great venue for a romantic getaway but would be fun with a young family too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

It had been many years since id visited Aberdovey and this time i was taking my son for the first time. The town holds many happy memories of when i was a child and introducing it to my little lad was a real treasure. The Lookout provided a perfect base camp; it was immaculately clean and very well maintained and the owners were wonderful and couldnt do enough for us. A truly beautiful apartment that overlooks the wonderful Dovey estuary and provides incredible vistas,
We LOVED it - absolutely awesome !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a 2 night stay in the Crows Nest suite.

The room was really fab, it felt really light and airy. Lovely toiletries.

The views out from the room were the high point, it meant even when we wanted a break from the sun we could sit in the apartment for a couple of hours watching the kite surfing and enjoying the view without feeling like we were wasting our time like you would do if you had a normal hotel room.

Jules and his wife were super friendly and easy to chat to.

The rooms use code access doors which makes arriving and leaving really easy.

I would deffo recommend this place, if you can get the top floor suite even better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fantastic apartment-fantastic views!!!!!! we stayed in the 2nd floor upper deck for 5 days. We had the most relaxing holiday we have had for some time, just sitting looking out of the window with a glass of wine watching the sun go down over the sea is something we will not forget for a long time. The beach was so clean and safe even i went in for a swim, could see the fish swimming around my feet fantastic. Thank you Jules for being a great host, making the whole holiday experience a great one form the moment we rang you to enquire about staying to leaving and going home everything was hassle free. would definitely recommend The Lookout to anyone ten out ten.. We will definitely be back with the whole family or maybe just my husband and myself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed on the top floor of the Lookout in the Crow's Nest for five days in July. The studio apartment has stunning views of Aberdovey beach and bay, and is finished to a high standard throughout. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly.

Aberdovey itself is beautiful, with a huge beach and sand dunes, and as you look inland there are mountains in the distance, the whole area is just stunning.

We had a fantastic time and will definitely be heading back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in the Lower Deck studio apartment for five nights in July 2013, on a self catering basis. The apartment is very clean and very stylishly furnished. The views over the Dovey estuary, to the hills the other side and out to sea are amazing. Binoculars are provided to take advantage of the views. Although it is a studio apartment, it is quite spacious and we did not feel cramped at all and there was space to store suitcases etc. (We had quite a lot of luggage with us, as this was part of a two week holiday.) We prepared several meals in the apartment and there was adequate kitchen equipment to do this, but there are several pubs and restaurants nearby if you want to eat out. However, it was lovely to sit at the table in the kitchen area and look out over the beach and estuary as we ate. One evening we had a picnic on the beach, which is just over the road from The Lookout and watched the tide come in as we had our evening meal.

There is no car parking space, but there is a public car park just opposite the apartment and we left out car there for the whole of our stay. There is a train station in Aberdovey and we used the train to see the area, as the train rides must be some of the best in the country. The train travels along the coast going northwards towards Barmouth and along the river estuary travelling inland towards Machynlleth - beautiful scenery both ways. One day we walked along the beach to the next town (Towyn) and came back by train. We saw some of the dolphins in Cardigan bay that day. All in all it was a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: There are three apartments and the Lower Deck, as the name implies, is the lowest of them. It is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout

Address: 6 Glandyfi Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront in the pretty seaside village of Aberdovey. The Lookout accommodation has 3 newly renovated suites with fabulous sea views over the Dovey estuary, beach & mountains beyond. All suites open plan kitchen, dining & living area with free WiFi and uninterrupted sea views. Beds are superking size doubles and have en-suite shower rooms. Breakfast is delivered to you room when you want it. 'Have your holiday your way.' The Lookout is situated opposite Aberdovey beach with a level stroll to the pier, shops, galleries and restaurants. Set in the Southern Snowdonia National Park, it is the perfect spot to tour both Mid & North Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lookout Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lookout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.