We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday @ The Lookout” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lookout

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lookout
Save
You added The Lookout to your Saves list
6 Glandyfi Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bank Holiday @ The Lookout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stopped in 'The Crow's Nest' Room at the Lookout Hotel, Aberdovey for two nights on Bank Holiday Monday and Tuesday. We booked around two weeks prior to our arrival date, and spoke to Jules (the owner) via phone and e-mail. He was very helpful and was more than happy to answer any questions we had.

After travelling for the best part of three hours, we were delighted to arrive and find our room already set up and ready for us to go straight into, with fresh milk in the fridge and tea bags ready for a much needed cup of Tea. Jules met us on our arrival, and couldn't have been more helpful, providing us with information on cinemas, things to do and places to eat both in Aberdovey and the surrounding area.

The room was exceptionally nice, and having stayed in a variety of accommodations through various trips, would comfortable fall into the top 2! Stylishly designed with aspects of a real sea side feel, the comfortable sofas and bed made for a very relaxing venue following long days of walking along the beach or through the various 'small towns' in the area. The view from the breakfast bar was breathtaking, with the sea and beach being visible both from bed and the living space in the apartment. The bathroom was comfortable and nicely sized, with an exceptional shower!

As a couple, we found the room more than big enough for us, and the collection of cooking utensils meant we were able to prepare our own meal one evening. Jules & Lisa have thought of everything that could be required here for a nice relaxing stay, from a TV and Blu Ray player to a selection of DVD Games and Board Games! Lisa was also exceptionally helpful regarding giving us tips on the best places to park! With a little one on the way, Jules showed us 'the Upper Deck' apartment on our departure, which we will aim to stay in (as a family) in the coming year or so!

Very Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: All Views have a great sea view. As a couple, would highly recommend the Crows Nest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
78
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The accommodation was fantastic, modern, clean, well equipped and extremely comfortable. We booked the second floor room and the views were wonderful. Aberdyfi is a beautiful town with great places to eat and nice shops. The accommodation is in a perfect location; with a car park outside right next to the beach. Jules is a fantastic host, even carrying our bags to the room when we arrived (it was raining heavily!). He was even researching things for us to do on rainy days! Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: View from the middle floor is fantastic with 2 chairs in the window to watch the World go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The accommodation was superb, well equipped and very comfortable, the bed was exceptionally large. The views were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. The whole village of Aberdovey and the surrounding area were a delight to explore, especially the Talyllyn railway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Everything about this holiday was wonderful. The location is beautiful, the flat (Upper Deck) was so comfortable, equipped to a high standard and with a stunning view. Jules was extremely helpful, allowing us to rearrange when we had a family illness. We went for a week and ended up staying a couple more days, which says it all. Holiday heaven!

Sue

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed for two nights (6th and 7th April) in the Lower Deck. Even before we arrived Jules had emailed full confirmation of the booking and provided contact details of some recommended places to eat in Aberdovey. Jules also recommended a couple of pubs where I may be able to watch the Heineken cup rugby.

The Lower deck is a good as the pictures. Decorated and finished to a high standard, and it just feels fresh and a relaxing place to be. The views over the estuary are wonderful. The bathroom is nicely finished, and the shower was powerful and consistently hot.

The bed was huge and really comfortable, and the additional seating in the lounge/diner area was a really nice touch. Although this is a studio apartment, the layout makes it feel really spacious. The kitchen was well stocked with crockery, glasses and various utensils - including a tupperware container that was perfect for taking sandwiches out on a day trip.

Jules has thought of everything and it makes such a difference to show that he cares so much about the properties and that his guests enjoy their stay. I would happily visit again and stay in the Lookout - hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presteigne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My elderly mother and I were delighted with The Lookout - we stayed four nights in the Lower Deck and could not have wished for a better place to stay. My mother has limited mobility so she particularly enjoyed the stunning view from the bay window and she found the layout of the open plan room very convenient and easy to manage. The beds were comfortable, the shower was superb, the decor was beautiful, everything we needed was there. We both thought we'd like to move in! We hope very much to be able to return for another visit. Thankyou Jules and Lisa for a wonderful stress free break. Jenny and Mum

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Everything previously written about The Lookout is true.....it more than lived up to its expectations. Its a great place and Jules is a great host. Within minutes of us arriving he'd fixed up for us to take the train to Port Meirrion, booked us in for lunch and arranged transport from the station....amazing service!!
We enjoyed eating out at The Seabreeze but were v glad we were staying at The Lookout.
Lots to see and do in the area, I'd reccommend a break here to anyone

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout

Address: 6 Glandyfi Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront in the pretty seaside village of Aberdovey. The Lookout accommodation has 3 newly renovated suites with fabulous sea views over the Dovey estuary, beach & mountains beyond. All suites open plan kitchen, dining & living area with free WiFi and uninterrupted sea views. Beds are superking size doubles and have en-suite shower rooms. Breakfast is delivered to you room when you want it. 'Have your holiday your way.' The Lookout is situated opposite Aberdovey beach with a level stroll to the pier, shops, galleries and restaurants. Set in the Southern Snowdonia National Park, it is the perfect spot to tour both Mid & North Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lookout Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lookout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.