We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable seafront hotel in Aberdyfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Awel y Mor

Awel y Mor
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Awel y Mor
Save
You added Awel y Mor to your Saves list
4 Bodfor Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Wolverhampton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable seafront hotel in Aberdyfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here with my mother just for 1 night as I needed to find somewhere quickly in the Aberdyfi/Tywyn area, and this hotel seemed to be very reasonable and in a good location.
We were welcomed by Brian who showed us to our room which was compact and clean with ensuite and all the usual facilities including TV, hospitality tray. This was a double and met our requirements perfectly. Mum was very impressed. We were asked to complete a form for breakfast choice, of full English, or the different types of eggs of your choice including scrambled egg with smoked salmon. There was a good choice of cereals, and as much toast as you wanted. Brian served the guests breakfast whilst Jen cooked in the kitchen. We found him very friendly, and helpful and he is a font of all knowledge with regard to the locality and surrounding areas. This hotel is located opposite the car park to the beach and offers sea views from upstairs rooms. There is at lounge for guests to use if they wish on the 2nd floor affording great views. Its worth knowing too that as a guest you will get a parking permit but this must be handed back on your departure.
Aberdyfi is a picturesque fishing village having 3 pubs, all serving bar snacks, and good restaurants. Activities include all kinds of watersports and a yacht club on the wharf. Just outside the village is Aberdyfi's championship golf course where many tournaments are held, and most of the visitors here are usually golfers as well.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, Brian and Jen are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We were very pleased with the price, which was £65 for the 2 of us which we thought was very reasonable. I will be staying again when I can.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

A very warm welcome from Brian and Jen. Made to feel at home straight away with no rules or fuss. Being able to come and go anytime was really good. Delicious breakfasts. Room was stylish and spotless. Wonderful position and great views in one of the best little resorts in the UK.
The fantastic weather meant it felt like being in the Mediterranean. Blue skies and sea even managed a swim!

Room Tip: Worth asking for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We booked this B&B on the spur of the moment for a relaxing family break, and certainly found a gem!

My husband and I, plus our three year old Son were made extremely welcome by Jen and Brian. We stayed in the family en-suite room, which was spacious, comfortable and spotless. The real bonus was relaxing on the sofa overlooking a beautiful sea view.

The breakfasts were delicious, and nothing was too much trouble for Brian and Jen. They were very helpful with advice on the local attractions and places to eat.

Highly recommended. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Beautiful westher prompted a two day visit to Aberdovey. With no lodgings booked we found the Awel Y Mor right on the seafront in a great position. We received a warm and friendly greeting and were shown a room available. Immediatley we both agreed it was for us!! Large and airey with a bay window overlooking the promenade and a sofa strategically placed for viewing (or people watching). It was immaculate and very clean, with a selection of teas and coffees. We enjoyed our time in Aberdovey and had a wonderful nights sleep. Breakfast ordering was simple and we could choose a time. This was served to us by the host Brian, who was a cheery face in the morning. Jenny also popped in for a chat between running the rest of the establishment.
All in all, we would recommend this b&b to anyone visiting Aberdovey and will most certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We had a great 2 nights here, Breakfast was freshly cooked for us. The owners local knowledge was very helpful. The rooms were very clean with terrific sea views. Too sum up, Clean, Well presented rooms, Great freshly prepared breakfast and an ideal quiet location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Beautiful b and b on the sea front. Brian and Jen the owners were very friendly and knowledgable. Breakfast was fantastic! Room was a little small but very clean and comfortable. I think if u take a sea view room it is much bigger. Overall fantastic stay :)

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

myself & my wife have been staying here at least twice a year since 2005, say no more ! we always stay in the same room & consider brian & jenny good friends now. breakfast is worth getting up for, the general atmosphere in awel y mor is wonderful. and aberdovey itself would take up a lot more typing space than i have to describe how much we and thousands of other people love it. aberdovey we lovey ! see you in 2 weeks brian & jenny !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Awel y Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awel y Mor

Address: 4 Bodfor Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aberdovey (Aberdyfi in Welsh) is an unspoilt seaside village in Snowdonia National Park with its majestic mountain scenery. Four Star Accommodation offers: Spotless rooms, some with stunning sea views, modern en-suites with complementary toiletries, flat panel digital TVs in all rooms tea/coffee making facilities wide choice of breakfasts including vegetarian specialties, guests` sitting room facing the sea. A friendly welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Awel y Mor Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awel y Mor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.