We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright, modern cooking and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze

Sea Breeze
6 Bodfor Terrace | Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EA, Wales
01654 767449
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bright, modern cooking and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The restaurant is on the ground floor of one of the old sea Captain's houses, which once overlooked the beach and now overlooks a large carpark with the sea beyond.

It is a great restaurant. I've eaten there many times with my father, and we've never had anything but great service and great food. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The wine list is expensive but good, and the food is super.

Last time we were there we were given a tiny free appetizer, which was a chilled soup and was superb. The seafood soup was full of fish and had lots of flavour, and the Welsh steak was magnificent. They try, as far as possible, to source ingredients locally, and the quality of those ingredients really shows.

Like the food, the restaurant itself is modern, bright and airy, and there are always customers, even in the winter when Aberdovey can struggle. Lots of them appear to be golfers, who visit Aberdovey all year round, but there are also Seabreeze hotel guests, tourists and Aberdovey residents.

It is essential to book at all times of year. In the summer there are a couple of tables outside.

Parking is easy, as the restaurant is opposite the main Aberdovey carpark, which is free after 6pm at the time of writing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    44
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great meal here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Loved the very fish heavy menu...great service and food.
We sat outside on a balmy evening, then moved in later for coffee.
Great steak and thai style cod.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We enjoyed our first meal at Sea Breeze so much that we returned the next evening. The restaurant is small so booking is recommended. The staff were great - very friendly and helpful. The complimentary taster portion of soup was appreciated. Main course was delicious and the sticky toffee pudding was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Excellent seaside fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Well worth the hour wait. Absolutely fantastic fish and chips. The best we have had for a long time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saas-Grund, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great choice of fresh fish/seafood, served with lovely sea views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you like fresh fish and local produce, don’t look any further. The menu already offers a great choice for every taste and the daily blackboard is quite extensive as well. What finally comes out of the kitchen is prepared with care and tastes as deliciously as it looks. The staff are friendly and provide a good, fast service. The restaurant is furnished in pleasant soft colours and has got a nice atmosphere with a good mix of guests.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Breeze also viewed

Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Sea Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Breeze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.