We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fron Haul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fron Haul
Save
You added Fron Haul to your Saves list
7 Glandovey Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EB, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed at Fron Haul for 3 nights recently and we were very pleased we choose it. We stayed in the Midships room which was beautiful and much nicer than the website pictures, the room was very very cosy and spotlessly clean. The Bathroom was again spotless and the shower was superb. Thank you Reeve for being so helpful and friendly and we were sorry we did not leave a comment in the guest book but as we had to leave at 6:30 am we were worried about waking your other guests. I would thoroughly recommend anyone stay at Fron Haul and we hope to go back sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
39
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Fron Haul for three nights in mid-September. Our room was ‘Mid-Ships’. WOW! The room is on the first floor with large picture windows looking out across the Dyfi Estuary. There are two comfy armchairs in the window and we spent some very pleasant times just watching the sea and changing weather conditions. Reeve (we didn’t meet his wife Susie) was the perfect host and made us very welcome. For breakfast you choose from a wide menu the night before and it is then served in your room at a time to suit you. The downside of not eating in a breakfast room is that there is no one who comes to ask if you need more tea/ coffee/toast etc. However, this is more than compensated for by the quality of the food provided, and the sheer decadence of eating breakfast together in your pyjamas whilst sneaking a look at that amazing view. Fron Haul has recently been refurbished (Spring 2010) and our room was full of high quality fittings. There was a beautiful bathroom with separate double shower cubicle. We also had a huge bed which clearly was also high quality.
So, a great place to stay. ‘Would we stay here again?’ ‘Yes, definitely’. Fron Haul is a B and B that just ‘oozes’ quality.
While staying at Fron Haul, we ate at Seabreeze, a new restaurant which opened in May 2010. It’s a one minute walk from Fron Haul. We had an excellent meal and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Good rooms, we had "Fore" and "Aft" and both were as spacious as you would normally get in a B & B, were well equipped and very comfortable. We were met in a very friendly way even though we had arrived later than anticipated and the owner had to make a special journey to let us in! Breakfast is very novel as it is served into your room rather than a separate room and again plenty of it and good quality. We would definately stay there on a future visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights in 'Midships' room - certainly as good as most 4 star hotels I use. View is worthy of the stay itself, everthing you need on hand including a decent size fridge in rroom. Parking in car park opposite easy & secure. Reeve very helpful re where to visit & eating out (I recommend the Riverside). Overall a 10 out of 10 break (we will be back!)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Our room had the wow factor. It was newly decorated to a very high standard, spacious and over looking the beach. It felt like a real home from home.
We had a lovely stay and we finally solved the breakfast mystery on the day we were leaving ........see if you can!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Fron Haul really is a quite excpeionally good B&&B, its ideally situated slap bang on the sea front in very picturesque Aberdovey and the rooms we had, Midships & Bridge, we were 2 couples, both had beautiful views of the beach and sea. The rooms were spotlessly clean and extremely spacious, the fixtures and fitting were all of the highest quality and the beds were a dream! Breakfast is served in your room and we all opted for the full English which was supberb, and so lovely to be able to sit in the window and eat it while watching the world, and the seagulls go by!! The owners were charming and cound't do enough for us. I really cannot speak highly enough of Fron Haul. We were there for my Parents 61st Wedding anniversary, and this truly was a very special palce for a very special occasion. B&B doens't really do it justice - its a lot nicer than most hotels!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed at the Fron Haul with some friends whilst touring Wales.
Very friendly owners who could not have been more helpful. From the minute you enter you notice how much effort has been put into making your stay as comfortable as possible. Our rooms were beautifully clean and tidy with a crispness about them. We stayed in the crows nest with spectacular view across the estuary. Be warned as there was is alot of steps to this room - after all it is in the attic, so not for the weak kneeed - but well worth the view and space when you get there, as it has a lounge area as well. Our friends enjoyed their room on the ground floor as it was comfortable and clean, but alas did not have the sea view, however we were told this beforehand, so there was no shock ( and its cheaper too). This alone should not put you off staying in this specific room. Breakfast is served in your room at a time convenient to you and was a tasty treat - delicious and hot and a good start to a days touring. Overall I would recommend this accommodation as excellent and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fron Haul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fron Haul

Address: 7 Glandovey Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fron Haul offers luxury, seafront bed & breakfast accommodation in the picturesque village of Aberdovey, with spectacular views over the beautiful Dovey estuary and mountains beyond. Our rates include a choice of breakfasts which are served in your bedroom at a time to suit you. The bedrooms are modern and contemporary having been fully refurbished and offer excellent facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fron Haul Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fron Haul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.