We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little taste of spain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Mar

Casa Del Mar
25 Navigation Point, Hartlepool TS24 0PF, England
+44 1429 222223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 170 Restaurants in Hartlepool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a little taste of spain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

lovely little restaurant on the marina, great food, good service and a lovely atmosphere. Just a shame the paella was overdone

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    57
    20
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hidden behind a plain white door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I found ourselves staying at the Marina and took a walk along the harbour side looking for somewhere to eat. We stopped to read the menu outside and both were impressed with the choice. We decided to go inside.
There was a plain white UPVC door which I entered into, wondering what was going to be on the other side.
Like some sort of magical device that Mr Benn would have used with suddenly we're in a very busy and atmospheric tapas restaurant.
Quickly we were greeted by Garry and seated in the window. I was amazed at how busy it was inside, be aide from the outside it didn't seem that popular!
Garry brought us the menu and explained the 'tick box' ordering (an excellent idea I have to say) and was soon back with our drinks.
We ordered 7 dishes between us, one more than Garry's "3 each" suggestion, and in hindsight 3 each was more than sufficient.
The dishes landed very quickly and all at once, not something I'm used to in tapas restaurants.
The food was amazing and it was difficult to choose a favourite. The battered prawns if you really must know!
An excellent meal, a beautiful atmosphere and a hidden gem behind a white UPVC door.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tapas, sunshine and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great night, sun setting over the marina...and superb tapas. Good selection of dishes - deceivably filling..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“friends nite out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

been twice this week with different friends good selection of food never disappointed fantastic service staff very friendly

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

you can not book this restaurat unless there is 8 of you. The 4 of us arrived and it was very busy, however we only waited approx 20minutes for a table, we sat in the comfy couch area and had a drink. 2 of us had the fajitas which i would recommend, the other 2 diners had 3 tapas each, and still didnt finish it all. if you are coming to Hartlepool it wuld be a sin to not go.
A special mention to Gary who was so pleasant when we arrived and is an asset to the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Del Mar also viewed

Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 

Been to Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.