We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marine Hotel

The Marine Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Marine Hotel to your Saves list
The Marine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Front | Seaton Carew, Hartlepool tS25 1BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was abaloutly amazing I love the marine hotel it is one of the best hotel in Hartlepool the food is truly delicious and staff are really friendly I recomened this hotel to every one because it was totally fabulous!you should all go!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a descent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
11
17
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I visited the hotel on a recent drive out and have to say that the food and service from the staff as extremely pleasent. The pâté is some of best I've tasted and the parmo with home made chips an enjoyable delight and filled a hole after a freezing walk along the seafront. Good value and the staff mean ill definitely be making another visit soon.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

After reading these reviews I felt that I had to put something on here as I've visited this hotel on numerous occasions and the food is very nice and enjoyable. I particularly like the pâté and hunters chicken. It is also nice to have home made chips and crispy onion rings instead of frozen and soggy stuff.

I can't understand why there is bad reviews as on each occassion my meal has been lovely and will be returning again. The staff are also very helpful and efficient and if any problems help out straight away especially in relation to children and picky eaters !! Which some of my friend are.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were told it was advisable to book a table but when we got there were only 2 occupied. The bread you got with the soup was a small slice off a baguette or something similar.
When we went for the Carvery there were 3 meats looking very unappetizing, as there was nothing to cover them up. The chef wasted meat trying to get to the good bit. I know we were there early at 6-30 pm but it looked as though it had been left from dinner time.The Yorkshire puddings were flat and cold as were the vegetables, these were carrots ,swede, onions, parsnips and roast and mash potato. There was mint sauce with no lamb, pork but no apple sauce. Overall not a very enjoyable meal.
The staff were friendly but when told all we got was we will tell chef.
If you want a better Carvery in Seaton Carew try the Schooner further along the coast on an estate, it is better and cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the restaurant on 22nd March 2013. It was a Friday night and we were one of 4 tables - never a good sign.
Starters - some of the party ordered cheese and bacon potato boats. These arrived without the bacon but smothered in BBQ sauce. We sent these back to the kitchen. Credit to the chef, fresh potato boats arrived with bacon, albeit after the rest of the party had finished their starter.
Mains - ok
Deserts - the Cheesecake of the Day was Cherry. When this arrived it was normal cheesecake with a cherry compot on top. The Cheesecake itself was tasteless. One of the party had a Creme Brûlée and again this was not very tasty.
Service - we had a child in our party who got a FruitShoot as part of their meal deal. We had to ask for this mid way through the meal and then the wrong flavour was brought over. When you look at this in light of the starter incident, I do question the capability of the staff.

Our party will not be returning in a hurry. There are much nicer restuarant's in Hartlepool.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Have stopped at this hotel approximately 6 times through work. If I was booking the hotel I definitely would not stop in this hotel. I have always been given a back room, often with ground floor views over the car park and brick wall. The breakfast has always been terrible - very greasy and has been cooked several hours earlier. Some of the rooms are dark & dingy and don't even have a shaver point. Don't stop here - go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The first thing I have to say that all of the staff in this hotel are very friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

Despite quite a few stains on the room carpet the room itself was very clean and well maintained.

Breakfast was pretty substantial and very tasty. We ate out the first night and on the Sunday night went down for dinner to find the restaurant closed at 6pm on a Sunday so we decided to order a bar meal. The pizza was the most disgusting soggy mess I have seen. We don't normally complain easily and would rather vote with our feet but it was sent back. Even the waitress agreed that she wouldn't attempt to eat it.. They were very courteous about it and offered a refund, replacement meal or round of drinks.

They advertise free wifi but it just doesn't work even if you sit on the sofa next to the router.

With a few tweaks this would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: The Front | Seaton Carew, Hartlepool tS25 1BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
25 bed 3 star hotel. Beautiful sea views with a very popular restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Hartlepool
The Marine Hotel Hartlepool, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.