We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cosy village pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spotted Cow

The Spotted Cow
31, The Green | Elwick Village, Hartlepool, Hartlepool, England
01429266373
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 143 restaurants in Hartlepool
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice cosy village pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great atmoshphere in a lovely olde worlde english pub, nice bar area and reasonably priced.
Bar staff attentive and the restraunt was excellent.
Just wish I had a pub like this closer to where I live.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    34
    9
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We visit this place often. The staff are friendly, food is of excellent gastro pub quality, very fresh ingredients, great variety, nice atmosphere. Probably the best pub food in or around Hartlepool

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Called in on sat eve on the off chance of there being a table for five. Staff were incredibly helpful moving tables so we could all get in. Food was really tasty home cooked and not too expensive. We will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
“good meal spoilt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

A delicious meal spoilt by the sizzling dishes ordered by other customers,the smoke and smell was overwhelming,causing my wife ,who is asthmatic leaving her meal and the table to go outside,we were not the only customers suffering and complaining.I don't know what the answer is to this problem but I for one won't use this pub again sorry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris1980-2012, Guest Relations Manager at The Spotted Cow, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hi Eddie,
We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us, Our sizzler dish is coming off our menu we are changing it so it will not be served in A skillet, it will be in the menu as (Cajun chicken wraps) so no more smoke, we understand it can be a problem that is why we are changing this from today.
Hope this helps. And please try us again if you ever have any issues ask 1 of our members of staff who will do there best to try and resolve any problem.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch time venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Had a meal with my future wife and never met before the 3 bridesmaids was a last minute idea to go to Spotted Cow for a meal but read the reviews on trip advisor and seemed good & to be honest its not exactly fine dining but saying that the staff where polite and looked after us it was quite for a Saturday night but you make your own night with the company ....the starter is like a main meal way to big needs to be half the size but tasty and they only give us 10 minutes after the starter and the main was served ahhhhhhh come on guys half the size of the starter and give half hour before serving the main

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spotted Cow also viewed

Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 

Been to The Spotted Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spotted Cow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.