We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Hartlepool

Museum of Hartlepool
Jackson's Dock Maritime Avenue, Hartlepool TS24 OXZ, England
01429 860 077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Attractions in Hartlepool
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visited the museum because it was free and seemed a good way to spend an afternoon. We were not disappointed. There is a good range of interesting exhibits and I enjoyed looking around the museum.
It seems to be designed with children in mind as there were lots of interactive activities for children to take part in, including dressing up and guessing bird calls.
Would definitely recommend a trip to this museum if you're in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good free museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Nice museum with some interesting displays. The museum is free to visit and is bigger than it looks from the outside. Lots of interactive bits for kids to get involved in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Super FREE muse am worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

It's free and an excellent museum well worth visit for a few hours, great if you are looking for some local history, plenty to entertain the kids and an interesting cafe on a boat

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Free and interesting paddle steamer and museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My main aim was to go to the museum to see the ex- Humber paddle steamer the Wingfield Castle that is a floating cafe here. They have done an excellent job in restoring it in honour of all the people involved in building it all those years ago. Not knowing what to expect within the museum it was a pleasant surprise. The exhibits were fresh and appealing and interesting. I found it frustrating that my town, who shares a similar maritime heritage and size with Hartlepool have never had the foresight or will to do similar although we do have the Fishing heritage Museum but it is not the same. It is certainly worth a visit to the quayside and paddle steamer.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice entertaining wander”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Enjoyed the museum, it was a nice surprise to get something free which was still top notch.and the kids were happy for a couple of hours too

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Hartlepool also viewed

Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 

Been to Museum of Hartlepool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Hartlepool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.