We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staincliffe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Staincliffe Hotel to your Saves list
Staincliffe Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seaton Carew, Hartlepool TS25 1AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“fabulous time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I booked my wedding here and originally was going to cancel it after the so called wedding coordinator pamela upset me so much . ( Pamela does not work there any longer )However I decided to go ahead as Angela took over everything and assured me my day would go as planned . Angela was fantastic really got involved in the wedding and made our day fantastic
I stayed overnight in the Family room so I had more room to get ready and wot a room ! It was done out lovely all nautical, plenty of room and amazing views and spotless, My honeymoon suite was jsut as nice fab views . The only comment I would say is they could do with putting a full length mirror in bridal suite .
The Food was gorgeous and the staff were really helpful especially Sharon on reception
Overall the whole day was great and everybody commented on how lovely everything was
and how well it all went .
I would definatley recommend staying at the hotel and any functions you need organising see Angela as she is a pleasure to deal with
A very big thank you from the new Mr and Mrs Dunn xxxxx

Room Tip: the sea views are definatley worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    30
    24
    19
    30
See reviews for
21
31
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Poor rooms very dated and small
Very nice breakfast and views staff very nice and attentive and quality food but room was do tiny and the bed not a double no way struggled to sleep at all tiny bed Maybe a 3quarter but we wanted a double so really poor

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have just returned from a trip to the North East with my very elderly parents during which we made the Staincliffe Hotel our base. There is a great deal about the hotel which made it the ideal place for us to stay.

Our rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable with lovely sea views, the food was excellent - the sausages are the best I've ever been offered in a hotel breakfast - and the service was fantastic. The staff are absolutely lovely - very caring and so friendly, they really made our stay perfect.

We ate in the bar on all of our three evenings and are unable to fault either the food or the service.

Two of our criticisms are minor - my parents would have liked more than one chair in their room and we would have liked headboards on our twin beds as their lack made reading in bed quite challenging!

The third is a little more serious, there is no lift (quite understandable in a listed building) and the stairs make this a less than ideal choice for people who are elderly or have mobility problems. A wheelchair user would not be able to stay here at all.

For those people who don't have to consider this, we would whole-heartedly recommend the Staincliffe as excellent value for money and we will definitely be returning at some point.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if stairs are a problem as there is no lift. The sea view rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Staincliffe Hotel last weekend and found the whole place has had a clean up from our last visit.

We were given a suite which had a room with a double bed and a room with two singles there was plenty of room to sit if needed. The bathroom was spotless with a nice corner bath. We overlooked the back garden not much to look at, but very quite which is what we wanted. There was a fridge that did not work, however as we were their for the night it did not matter to us.

The restaurant was great we had a three course evening meal which was cooked to perfection and served to us by a friendly young girl who was preganant she was such a pleasure. Breakfast was served in the same restaurant too, the only fault I could say on that is that they ran out of milk for the cornflakes and had to wait for more to be brought out, then run out of coffee and had to wait again, but all in all a splendid hotel. Our friends were not so lucky with their room as it was so tiny with two single beds and a small bathroom but had a nice sea view.

If you were staying more than the one night I would recommend booking a suite.

Room Tip: If possible pick a suite for the size if staying more than a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Having read some of the reviews on the Staincliffe, We were pleasantly relieved to find a very attractive, friendly establishment. Our room had panoramic sea views and was nicely furnished and comfortable. We ate in the grill room and to be honest the steak wasn't the best i'd ever had but probably not the worst either! Waitress very efficient and polite.

Breakfast was very good although we could have done without the cleaner spraying polish as we were eating. One of the managers had a very annoying habit of stomping round the place loudly too,He could have spent some time weeding the gardens instead! Also had just one bottle of sparkling wine on offer which he said was reserved for someone that evening although the bottle was still there the next day! He could have tried a little harder to be fair! Also no cocktails in the cocktail bar. The explanation from him was that they were changing to a brasserie.

We did get the chance to look at the attic room which was interesting and quite spectacular. Next time, we will go for this room, if you like sterile, stay in a travel inn (which incidentally was only £10 cheaper). The decor throughout is tasteful with lots of art deco in evidence. All in all a very pleasant stay in a superb location and most of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 20 is spacious with a great view, try room 18 if you want something a little different
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Well where to start, the beginning is usually a good place.
We went to the Staincliffe as a possible place to get married, our big day. After a discussion with the wedding co-ordinator Rachel we decided this was the place to have our day. Friendly, helpful, experienced and bendover backwards accomodating to both of our quite demanding needs.
We went back time after time after time in the months leading up to our wedding with changes and alterations to our arrangements and nothing was ever a problem, Angela the Manageress could not have been more helpful, by the time of the the wedding she was close to being added to the guest list.
The day itself. . . . .
The bride and the groom want everything to be perfect on the day and it was, well nearly, this isn't a perfect review but very nearly.
My only criticism of the day would be that twenty minutes before the service the room was still being set up and as the groom and there before my bride i panicked a little(lot). But in the Staincliffes defence it was ready on time, i just think it should be ready for ALL guests arriving.
The food was incredible and all our guests commented on how good it was, great quality and a full belly, not a thing left over as is often the case at weddings, HOG ROAST!!
We were given the 'honeymoon suite' free of charge and what a great way to end our fantastic day, lovely comfortable room looking out to sea and very clean, what more do you want.
Next day. . . .
We woke early to open our cards, opened the curtains sat on the couch in our room looking out to sea, perfect.
Went down to breakfast and were greeted by incredibly attentive staff, they all congratulated us on our lovely wedding and made us feel so special, wasn't in the brochure or necessary but a fantastic thing to wake up to. We had friends who stayed over for the night and when they came down for breakfast they too were treat like royalty, brilliant.
The afters. . ..
We were taken back by our friends on the way back from our honeymoon for a quick drink, when we walked in all the staff welcomed us and asked 'how our honeymoon had been' and what a great day our wedding was, VIP treatment again.
In summary. . . ..
GET MARRIED IN THE STAINCLIFFE, IT'S THE BEST DAY OF YOUR LIFE AND THEY DO EVERYTHING TO MAKE IT!!
Mr and Mrs McLachlan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

After reading reviews about this hotel we were apprehensive about our stay. We were there for a wedding. On arrival we were welcomed by a friendly member of staff who got us checked in swiftly. We entered our room to find it didn't have a sea view, we asked to be moved and we were moved. We moved into suite 20a called the silk room. The room was very spacious with a fantastic seating area by the floor to ceiling windows with an amazing view looking out to sea. The bed is the comfiest I've slept in for a long time, all I will say is the room could easily accommodate a larger bed adding more luxury and comfort. The room including the en-suite was clean, the shower was always hot and plenty of power (important after a morning dip in the sea) one thing the hotel should consider is updating the wardrobe and bedside units. They are fine but new and modern would create a bigger wow factor to match the window area and view. Eating in the grill that evening the chef had an order of 16 meals from us ranging from steaks, fish and chicken dishes. All meals came out together with NO complaints. Compliments to the chef. Breakfast was just as good and the staff were brilliant, had a bit of banter while taking the order and then left to enjoy the breakfast. Nothing was to much trouble. Which was the feeling given through out our stay. The wedding reception was held at the hotel. We enjoyed a 3 course meal served by an army of staff which ment the food and wine was served swiftly and things that should be hot were hot.
Having a group of us stay there for a wedding ment we got to see a few rooms and another suite we would recommend is Nantucker 1, a very nice room.
To summarise the staff including the manageress were friendly, social and helpful which made us feel welcome and relaxed. The hotel was clean with good facilities. The food was great in the bar as well as the grill. I do recommend this hotel and personally suggest ignoring the bad reviews.
To the hotel maybe put a bigger bed in the room and upgrade the furniture for a bigger wow factor

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staincliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staincliffe Hotel

Address: Seaton Carew, Hartlepool TS25 1AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staincliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront with breathtaking views across the North East coastline the Staincliffe Hotel has 20 luxury boutique bedrooms. This Victorian hotel also boasts a fine dining restaurant, cocktail and champagne bar, public bar, Grill Room steak restaurant, Function Suite, the Grand Ballroom and private walled gardens. After undergoing a massive refurbishment programme during winter 2009/2010 the Staincliffe Hotel is without doubt one of the northeast's premier venues! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Staincliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staincliffe Hotel Hartlepool, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staincliffe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.