We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rothbury Guest House

Rothbury Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartlepool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rothbury Guest House
Save
You added Rothbury Guest House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 The Cliff | Seaton Carew, Hartlepool TS25 1AP , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hartlepool B&B and Inns
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visiting the area with my partner and father who was attending an RAF reunion in Hartlepool.
I chose this B&B based on Tripadvisor reviews and was not let down. I had asked for ground floor rooms as my father is partial sighted and we were given rooms at the back of the house. They overlooked the side street that is a very quiet residential street. There is off road parking at the rear and plenty of parking on the side street (at weekend anyway).
Rooms are clean and well equipped and I certainly had a good nights sleep! Breakfast was very good and the view from the dining room is lovely. The owners, Gillian and Steve were very welcoming and this is obviously the norm as there were numerous Thank You cards on display.
My partner and I were given a tour by Steve who has refurbished the first floor front bedrooms to a high standard. We will ask for one of these on our return.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two newly refurbished rooms on the first floor overlooking the seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hello,
My name is thomas and i am from germany.
i' ve been for Business more than 12 weeks in the last 4 months
in the Rothbury Guest House.

I do my job more than 20 years,
and i have occasionally found a better place to stay
The complete house and area in fround of the house
was always clean and fresh.
The price-performance ratio was eminent.

All peoples in the house are be friendly and allways helpful.
I hope i can comeback some times .

Best regards and for the future all the best :-)
Thomas from Mannheim

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My brother stayed here last weekend, and asked me to put this review on as he was so impressed. The welcome, room, cleanliness and breakfast were all first class, and when they got a guided tour round the guest house, they said every room was large, and the en suites were very up to date and lovely.
Over the road and on the prom, and a 20 minute walk along to the marina. Nice coffee shops and ice cream shops on their doorstep in Seaton.

They booked a 'guide time' for breakfast so it was fresh, hot and they weren't rushed away.
All in all, his exact words are '10/10' we will be back".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here for about eight weeks while I was in the area working.while I was here I couldn't have been made more welcome.I have stayed in a lot of guest houses and b&b's up and down the country and this one is one of the best I have come across.rooms are ensuite large and absolutely spotless.I would absolutely recommend this guest house to anyone.thanks to Stephen and gillian for for a very pleasure able stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We found this guest house on the internet so it was a gamble as we haven't been to this area before. It is on the sea front at Seaton Carew which is a small resort just outside Hartlepool. Our room was quite large and very comfortable. All the usual mod coms ie ensuite, TV, tea & coffee and the sea can be seen from some rooms. The breakfast was 10/10 cereal or porridge and a full English with toast and you will be set for the day. The owners, Gill and her husband were friendly and helpful. To top all this, the room was only £50 a night. Just down the road is a good and reasonably priced Italian restaurant and a fish restaurant. It is ideally situated for a visit to the Tricommelee 1817 ship and sea front museum. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Some rooms are single. We had No 1 which is large and quiet with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmtreepark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is our second stay at the Rothbury. Lovely location on the sea front and the dining room has beautiful views across the green to the sea. Breakfast very good indeed and everything catered for. The Owner's are very accommodating and friendly and the guest house itself is very well decorated throughout. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Can't fault and would highly recommend to anyone. Will be coming again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Could not find a single fault with the Rothbury Guest House.
Stayed Saturday night April 2013. The room was. clean, the bed
comfortable,beautiful sea view. Wonderful breakfast and the hosts
Steve and Gill made us feel very welcome, will certainly stay
there again in the future.
Jim & Irene
Bury Lancs

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rothbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothbury Guest House

Address: 9 The Cliff | Seaton Carew, Hartlepool TS25 1AP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a family run guest house we provide you with a friendly warm welcome and a pleasant atmosphere.The Rothbury Guest House is situated on the north east coast with magnificent views of the sea and spectacular sunrises.We provide off street car parking,excellent food and we are only yards away from the beach and promenade. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rothbury Guest House Hartlepool, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rothbury Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.