We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Swainson Street, Hartlepool TS24 8AA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Billingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“lovely break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and i have just got back from a lovely weekend stay here ,its a lovely hotel the staff are really nice and friendly,the food is lovely,the room we stayed in was supposed to be an executive room but it was more like a family room with 1single and 1 double bed I was expecting something more like the hotel photos,it was lovely and clean nice fluffy towels ,would recommend staying here xxx

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Jackieseatoncarew, Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your return, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    88
    45
    30
    22
See reviews for
52
87
20
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

There was an old-fashioned, genteel feel about this hotel - not quite the Grand Hotel Budapest! We were welcomed by friendly staff who were most helpful. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The meals were delicious, served by lovely staff. Car parking available nearby, but we could only access a strong internet connection in the en-suite! Good value and recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear 111HGA, Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your return, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here in April. Room was lovely clean and bright with great views.Service and staff were away above average and food was superb. Overall we found it great value and a really enjoyable experience, already planning next years trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Anne and Hugh, Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your return, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stay here quite often because there is always a good deal on weekends! Our first stay there was no hot water, the manager gave the attitude of "deal with it" however the next morning the lovely lady at reception gave us discount due to this an the hairdryer not working. Due to her lovely attitude we stayed a few weeks later and decided to get the deal on the executive suite however we were put in the same room we originally stayed in (standard double!) We didnt complain. Our last stay, was simply some digs for a night out ..when we came back after 12midnight we realised the pillows were dirty. The hairdryer again didnt work and the plug for the kettle didnt work! Not only that but we paid through a 3rd party an we were charged again after the hotel took a further payment off £44 off us! The rooms are decent an it has a restaurant and bar based in the hotel. If you stay at the weekend the music is loud til about 1am. But just prepared for a few issues if you do!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Abbie M, I am sorry that something went a miss on your last stay, I can assure that these issues are quite rare for the hotel and we would look forward to your return, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Grand Hotel for a wedding in April. Food was out of this world and the rooms were beautiful. Staff could not do enough for us. Charges very good prices as well. Would highly recommend to anyone :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Robert_oConnor, Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your return, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My husband & I have just returned from a 1 night DBB stay at The Grand Hotel in Hartlepool. What a lovely hotel! We had a spacious room, with a huge comfy bed with lovely crisp linen. The bathroom was spotlessly clean with soft towels. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate & biscuits were provided.
We were very impressed with the hotel. Right in the centre of Hartlepool too. Our evening meal was a delicious 3 course with plenty choice. Breakfast the next morning was excellent too. The staff were friendly and work hard to ensure guests are well looked after.
Excellent on all scores. Well done to everyone involved in running this hotel. I will definetely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear susiecute, Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your return, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Gorgeous, clean hotel, comfy bed, sparkling bathroom, close to town centre, marina and local bars. Superb food, hospitality second to none, entertainment was excellent. Ideal for families or couples. Would definitely recommend to anyone. We will be staying again when visiting Hartlepool.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear N2a9t, Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your return, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel

Address: Swainson Street, Hartlepool TS24 8AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Hartlepool, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.