We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and great hospitality in the centre of Hartlepool.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Hotel to your Saves list
Douglas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   2 Grange Road, Hartlepool TS26 8JA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hartlepool B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Great stay and great hospitality in the centre of Hartlepool.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed at the Douglas Hotel for one night as we were attending a wedding. We booked following on from great reviews on this site but the place far exceeded our expectations. We had a great stay and will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    23
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
19
16
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I found the Douglas to be all you would want from an independent hotel. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. Our rooms were of a pleasing contemporary design, clean and fresh looking, and comfortable. Breakfast options were what you expect and well cooked and presented. Excellent.

Room Tip: If you prefer bath or shower cubicle it would be a good idea to mention when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kreuzberg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

we had a really miserable day before we finally found hospitality @ douglas! Arrived really late that rainy evening and got a warm welcome! Very friendly people and the room was good, too.

Only thing we have to "complain" the enormous size of the breakfast portions ;)
Tasted good though and was a good premiere for a full english breakfast!

thx!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Cycling Land's End to John O'Groats & arrived late on a Saturday evening, & the staff were great. Let us park bikes inside & served food despite being after official time for chef to go home. Our room was clean & comfortable. Good value as well. Recommend the Douglas.

Room Tip: We were on top floor & it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Douglas Hotel while working in Hartlepool, easy hotel to find in the centre, ample parking around the hotel, very friendly welcome upon arrival, stayed in single room, slightly smaller than other hotels but all you really need, rooms clean and well serviced. Hope your hungry if you stay here, food is excellent and great value, hats off to the chefs, huge plates and rarely finished a meal, would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Hartlepool,would stay here again. Thanks Lee and Mally and the rest of the staff

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one night on 14th May, and although a brief stay the standard of the hotel is excellent. Very clean everywhere, the room was very comfortable, well kept and nicely decorated. More like a bedroom at home rather than a hotel - small bedside lamps and other similar 'small touches' which made it very homely and relaxing. All of the staff were very welcoming, friendly and only too happy to make my stay a very pleasurable experience. It's located close to the town centre so very accessible and although on a main road, but don't be put off by that as it's very quiet.

The full english breakfast was huge and I couldn't finish it; superbly cooked.

I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending the hotel, it's excellent!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. My room was on the main road side of the hotel, overlooking the church oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Hotel

Address: 2 Grange Road, Hartlepool TS26 8JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Douglas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Douglas is located in the heart of Hartlepool Town. We are an independent accommodation and have a long reputation for the warmth of our hospitality and personal attention. We want your visit to be an experience you recall with pleasure and we look forward to welcoming you to The Douglas... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Hotel Hartlepool, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.