We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service to match” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piatto

Piatto
52-54 Connaught Ave, Frinton-On-Sea CO13 9PR, England
+44 1255 671648
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Situated in the beautiful seaside town of Frinton-on-Sea on the Essex Coast, Piatto Restaurant is a quaint Italian restaurant that offers attentive customer service, a relaxed atmosphere and exciting homemade Italian dishes. Piatto extensive menu ranges from the classic Italian cuisine to locally sourced fish dishes and exciting specials, which makes Piatto the popular restaurant that it is. Recognising the traditional wants of our customers, every week our chefs also puts on a mouth-watering homemade Sunday roast, so everybody can enjoy a little bit of Piatto. However, it's not just our food that brings people back time and time again, but also our entertainment. At Piatto, we offer monthly jazz nights and frequent wine tasting events; showcasing wines that will be added to the menus based on the feedback received from the customers. So whether you're looking for a cream tea in the afternoon overlooking the avenue, or an enchanting cocktail with friends, you can be sure to have a truly magical Italian experience.
Essex
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good food and service to match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We eat at Piatto often it offers a good varied menu and daily specials. The food is consistently good and the service is unrushed and effiecient. Far better than the typical "chain run" Italian eateries.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    41
    15
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good standard Italian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a fantastic place to go in Frinton-On-Sea!
I really like this restaurant as it offers some really good Italian food and the staff are extremely friendly.
The restaurant area itself is fairly small so I would advise booking in advance if you don't want to be disappointed.
The menu has a wide range of fantastic italian food and the pizzas are particularly excellent! They are very large though so I would advise only ordering a pizza if you are really hungry.
The pasta is also extremely good and it is possible to mix and match different pastas and sauces which is a nice touch. For example you can order spaghetti bolognese but with penne if you're not a huge fan of spaghetti.
However, I have experienced a bit of variability with this restaurant, for example I would not advise ordering the roast dinner as the potatoes are extremely salty.
Also, the tirimisu is quite variable and sometimes comes out really nice and authentic and others quite medioka.
Still edible though.
Overall a very good restaurant and definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were out for a Sunday drive, stopped for a coffee in Frinton and stumbled across this lovely little restaurant. It looked so inviting we decided to have lunch. We were not disappointed!! We were gived a very warm welcome from the owner (I think) and shown to a very good table.
My partner chose the roast beef and as we were expecting to have dinner in the evening I had a crayfish salad starter and a tomato salad. The roast beef was a bit overdone for my partner but this is a personal taste. The salad had so many crayfish I thought they had made a mistake and given me a main course portion. They had not.
We also had the house red and house white wine by the glass.
Everything was excellent. So much so that even though we live over an hour away we hope to return for one of their music (jazz) nights.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

4 of us had a birthday meal, the greeting was really friendly and the service overall was excellent, the atmosphere was spot on. The only slight downside to the evening was that one if the dishes that was ordered was so spicy it should have come with a health warning and had to be returned to the kitchen. on the whole we had a great time and would visit again, luckily we had a discount voucher or it would have been quite expensive.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton on Sea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The service is excellent and so is the food. Always a good choice for Pizza and Pasta. Whilst not the cheapest in the world, its certainly not expensive. Good wine list, can personally recommend the Carbonara and the Pizza's.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piatto also viewed

Frinton-On-Sea, Essex
Frinton-On-Sea, Essex
 
Frinton-On-Sea, Essex
Frinton-On-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Piatto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piatto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.