We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming but lovely food and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montien Thai Restaurant

Montien Thai Restaurant
65 London Road, Sevenoaks TN13 1AU, England
01732 455600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 92 Restaurants in Sevenoaks
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unassuming but lovely food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I visit Montien as a diner and to get a takeaway and my food is consistently very good. The staff are friendly and helpful and remember you. I would recommend a takeaway or a dine in experience. The restaurant is very low key and calm but I love that it has it's own unchanged ambience. The food is very good and I often ask for non menu items and am never disappointed. I

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    2
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I will not return.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The food was luke warm and fairly tasteless. The service was abrupt ... I had my plate removed before I had finished. The place had little atmosphere, in fact we were the only three customers at peak lunchtime hour, and the dining area was cold.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabrerets, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good unassuming restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love Thai food and I regularly visit the Montien Thai when I am in Sevenoaks each month. It is a small restaurant that you could easily overlook, but I would recommend it to anyone.
The food is always delicious, the staff are always very friendly and welcoming and it is very good value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in the UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have vistied Thailand 3 times now and no restaurant we have been to in the UK has been as close to the real thing as Montien. The pad thai is really delicious, and I definitely recommend the Tom Kha Gai. This is a family owned business and the waiters are very friendly - head and shoulders above the Thai Square chain.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great food, fast service will definitely pop in again sometime soon. We went with a large group and everyone got what they had ordered and in good time as well. Service superb!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montien Thai Restaurant also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Montien Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montien Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.