We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House on the Hill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House on the Hill - CLOSED

House on the Hill
115 London Road, Sevenoaks TN13 1BH, England
01732 450120
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $47 - $78
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This bright and airy restaurant on the London Road in Sevenoaks, Kent, has a striking cosmopolitan interior and a stunning modern English menu. The first floor dining room at House on the Hill is filled with natural light and boasts exposed bricks, wooden floorboards and deep red feature walls. Created using locally sourced produce, the House on the Hill's menu features English classics with an eclectic Mediterranean twist. We love the seared cod cheeks wrapped in pancetta with citrus and vanilla butter and grilled sweet peppers; Home smoked duck breast roasted with honey and black pepper, onion confit mashed potato, wilted spinach, garden peas and mustard gravy; and the Iced hazelnut parfait, chocolate and chilli sorbet and raspberry sauce.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“House on the Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A very pleasant experience. On arrival, the staff make you immediately feel comfortable and welcome. We had a table upstairs, which was very spacious for two people. The food was simply wonderful. The menu changes from time to time - I had a beef rib to start, and fabulous duck breast as a main course. All beautifully presented, and I certainly left full...!!
The restaurant also accepts Tastecards from Monday to Thursday which is a super deal if you're on a budget. We'll definitely be going back for more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Ate here on NYE 2012. Had a fantastic meal for a very reasonable price. Menu is interesting and service good.
Importantly, the menu is varied compared to the local area (many local restaurants are either ethnic asian, gastro pub or British/French classic). This seems to blend global influences very well without trying too hard to be fusion or cutting edge.

Very reasonable lunch menu too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Christmas class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A gem of a place for a Christmas Eve meal. Every table occupied: not difficult to se why! I had a gem of a plaice! Stuffed with minced seafood with a piquant sauce with (probably) the best chips known to man; calling them chips does not do them justice, believe me. Ambience and atmosphere in a perfect combination, attentive, efficient staff and classy decor make this a must for special occasions. Looking forward to my next visit in February. Try it; you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went with family for a birthday meal, really amazing place.

The food was fantastic, I have allergies and queried the menu, the chef emailed me personally offering to make an individual menu for me. As they make everything freshly on the day, they could give me a full ingredient breakdown of the dish I wanted to eat and could make amendments easily.

The food was fantastic, really delicious although I would have liked a slightly larger portion (only because it tasted so good!). They made me a special desert (off-menu) too which was great. We had a cup of some broth as a pre-appetiser, it was too salty for my taste.

We sat upstairs away from the kitchen and the service was good, enough time between courses to chat but not so long that you started to wonder where the food was. Waiters were friendly and engaging.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have eaten at House on the Hill several times and it is one of our favourite restaurants. We have been seated near the open kitchen on a couple of occassions and taken great pleasure in watching the care and pride the chefs take preparing the food and have tipped them generously because we felt they deserved it. Was suprised to see a few negative reviews and we can only recommend this restaurant highly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House on the Hill also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House on the Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.