We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly pub with great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Rock Inn

White Rock Inn
Mill Lane | Underriver, Sevenoaks TN15 0SB, England
01732 833112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 92 Restaurants in Sevenoaks
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $39
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dartford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly pub with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stumbled across the White Rock Inn as a stop off for coffee. Although it was not officially open the landlord was happy to make us a coffee, and even provided some Christmas cake to go with it. While we were there we looked at the menu and decided that we would go back at a later date. We returned in November for a Sunday lunch which was the best I had ever had. The service here was excellent, the staff work hard to keep the standard high. I will be returning again for the Christmas dinner menu and am, sure that I won't be disappointed. I do not hesitate in recommending this pub, in my opinion it is exceptional.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    45
    13
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious food, good value and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We went on a Saturday night, when you would expect a bit more pressure on the kitchen! But the food was first class, as was the service - we would highly recommend the homemade pate. The pub has a really homely feel about it, and the staff made us feel very welcome. The wine list is varied, and wines are very reasonably priced. The vegetables were cooked to perfection, and honestly can't fault any part of the meal - very happy customers - can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday lunch in a Friendly country pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice atmosphere, nice friendly staff, perfect country pub. We had a lovely roast, better than most pub lunches. I'm glad we ventured outside of our usual haunts. The portion was plentiful which was good as its £15 for the main and well worth every penny.

After a yummy sticky toffee pudding, we then went for a nice walk in Knole Park. Perfect location for a perfect Sunday lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Quality restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the original telephone call when we booked our luncheon to the end of our visit we received courteous and very friendly service. The venue was full of charm and character, the food absolutely first class. The choice of menu and the quality of the food that was served was excellent. We eat out quite regularly and this restaurant is at the top of our list. Strongly recommended. We will definitely dine there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“OK but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice food, better than humble pub fayre, but exaggerated prices. The restaurant was full and seemingly popular, but we expected something a bit more for the £35 / cover .... a £21 steak arriving with chips and a microwaved sweet with hot & cold spots was disappointing. In fairness, we live in the north ..... maybe this is the norm for Kent ?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Rock Inn also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to White Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Rock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.