We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Long wait.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvester Riverhead

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Harvester Riverhead
Amhurst Hill, Riverhead, Sevenoaks TN13 2EN, England
01732452787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 85 restaurants in Sevenoaks
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: British, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Description: At Harvester Riverhead Harvester in Sevenoaks food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Sevenoaks, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Riverhead, Chipstead and Dunton Green, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, Long wait.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I love harvester everywhere i go and this one is no exception. With free salad buffet bar to keep you occupied while you wait for your cooked food to come the wait flies by in seconds.

With both a waited restaurant area and a large bar area this place isn't short of seats. However because this place is mildly cheap with free salad, the waited dinning area is almost always fall with usually a 30 minute wait. Although if you dony want to wait you can sit in the bar area and still order from the same menu and still receive the free salad bar it doesn't feel the same if your going out with a girlfriend or boyfriend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Riverhead, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit to our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

41% Recommend
    13
    13
    17
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Terrible. Swearing and bad behaviour..not the other customers..that's the bar manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I visited this restaurant with my family on a Sunday evening back in June. We opted to eat in the bar to avoid the wait for the restaurant..no problems there. We have been many times and have, at times, been amused by the carry-ons of the self professed bar manager but this time was just terrible. We felt a nuisance, I didn't like to ask a question about my food choice. His swearing was audible and we were asked by our curious young children about F and C words. My partner wanted to leave but I didn't want to ask for a refund for fear of being even more of a nuisance and we were past the stage of finding somewhere else to eat.
This place always wants 'your feedback'.. or do they?? I completed the online survey AND a head office complaint form but more than four weeks later, no reply, not even an acknowledgement email and apparently no action. A friend subsequently visited and told me that the unfriendly, foul-mouthed bar manager is still there, unchanged, so either no action has been taken or he and the other management, all the way up to head office just don't care.
I'm not easily offended and am up for a laugh and would never think I would be the type to complain but this was beyond a joke. But its not just him...his girlfriend is vacant at best and has no product knowledge and the dark haired barman is as bad.
All in all, go there cos the food is edible and reasonably priced but don't expect guidance, professional advice, good service, humour, banter or a company ethic that realises the value of the customer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Riverhead, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to a Harvester Restaurant and we will reply to you personally about this.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Walked out!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Decided to go for a family meal today. We were greeted as we walked in by a waitress who took us to a table. We had to stand there whilst she cleaned it. After being seated for 15 minutes and still nobody even taking our drinks order, our children were growing irritable. A waiter then walked past and said he would sent someone over...nobody came. The restaurant was empty and staff were eating as they were walking past us!! Gave up, walked out and nobody realised!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Riverhead, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to a Harvester Restaurant and we will reply to you personally about this.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“What an experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We visit harvesters regularly and have been a regular visitor to this particular harvester many times over the last few years. Today we decided to have a meal for a birthday. We were seated in the lower restaurant, surrounded by a group of extremely loud, intoxicated females on once side and a group of poorly behaved children on the other. Obviously not within the staffs control but the group could have been asked to quiet down and stop using foul language. We were seated for nearly 15 minutes before being approached by a waitress to ask if we were ready to order. We politely told her we hadn't even been given a menu to which she responded "you only get those when we seat you" implying we had just wandered in to an empty table and sat there when in fact we were seated by one of her colleagues. For starters we ordered breaded mushrooms which were stodgy and some didn't even contain mushrooms! Picture to be uploaded if I can. We order a plantation player to share. We ordered 2 sides of chips as the waitress said they were individual portions. We ordered mayoniasise and jack Daniels sauce to accompany our meal. When it arrived we received a very small portion of soggy kebab shop chips. Less than a handful each! No jack Daniels sauce just mayo and sour cream and chive. The corn on the cob was dried out a obviously sitting around the kitchen. The chicken was dry and obviously not fresh. The waitress was rude and turse and this is by far the worse outing out experience I've had and certainly the worst harvester. There has obviously been a change of management at this establishment since our last visit. I will be complaining also to Harvester Head Office.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Riverhead, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to a Harvester Restaurant and we will reply to you personally about this.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food but dreadful service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Popped in for a quick bite to eat with friends after work. The food was good (spit roast chickens and steaks eaten) and the waitress was OK but the "host" behind the bar was the worst ever - I can only guess he didn't want to work that day! His attitude stunk :(

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Riverhead, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We are sorry that had disappointing service at our Harvester Restaurant and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Thank you.
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester Riverhead also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Harvester Riverhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvester Riverhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.