We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shropshire Splendour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castlefields Way, Madeley TF7 5DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Shropshire Splendour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a really pretty hotel and we got a good deal so I think it was good value for money. I prefer when there is an electronic key card and a fridge in the room but otherwise top notch stuff. It is full of brummies though.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    222
    95
    45
    35
See reviews for
79
386
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I booked here on a friend's recommendation and obtained a very good price by booking 2 months in advance. The old buildings and the gardens are just spectacular and well worth a wander to soak up the history. My friend and I stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the restaurant food on 2 of those nights as it was delicious.

Our room (number 20) was on the ground floor as requested but we found that the bedside lights were not working and as there was no main room light, only lights either side of the mirror on the opposite wall, we informed the receptionist who called a staff member to check the lights out. He came shortly after and, although replacing the bulb, could not fix the problem. The next morning when the Maintenance man came to check out the lights, he flicked a switch just inside the door and the bedside lights came on. Unbeknown to us, there was a "master" switch for those lights. The other problem I had on our first night was not being able to get cold water in the shower - it got too hot. The next morning the Maintenance man showed me how the taps operated - the top tap was to turn on the water and adjust the pressure and the bottom tap was to adjust the temperature!! Simple if you live in the UK but the plumbing is different in Australia and I had not come across this before. My life would have been a lot easier if there had been a small sign/instructions or the receptionists had been able to inform me of the master switch and how the taps worked when I told them (in detail) what the problems were.

Don't let this put you off staying here - it really is special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Many thanks for your review and for your kind comments. I am sorry that your stay was not hassle free, yet I am pleased that my team was responsive to this. I am very grateful for your recommendation and for your overall rating of Madeley Court and I do hope that we shall be welcoming you back.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I enjoyed my one night stop here; so different from the many bland modern hotels out there. The listed building is full of history, character and antique furniture. I had a single room in the gables - small, but clean and comfortable and accessed via a beautiful old timber winding staircase. The staff were welcoming and helpful. We had an enjoyable evening meal in what must have been a grand reception room in bygone days, with its huge impressive fireplace. My only suggestion to the management is to consider some improvement to the garden area beside the lake at the back of the building. This has the potential to be such a beautiful outdoor spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Many thanks for your review and particularly the great photos of Madeley Court that you have kindly shared. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your one night with us and that my team were welcoming and helpful . I have noted your observations regarding the lake side patio and this is a project that we shall be working on. I do hope that we shall be seeing you again soon.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A three night all inclusive stay, if I had to pay for evening meals would still have given same rating. What the meals lacked in variety was far exceeded by the quality !! Staff looked and acted as if they were happy to be there making us feel welcomed. Would happily return ......

Room Tip: Stayed in the modem extension very quite good size No 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Madeley Court Hotel and I am delighted that we looked after you so well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I needed to go to a meeting nearby and someone in the office booked me in here. I have always had decent stays at Mercures (particularly the one in central Chartres) and so kind of knew what to expect. However this one is a bit different, not a modern monolith but a charming old country house converted into a hotel. Lovely dining room which I expect was the banqueting hall, nice steak with good sauce and excellent service (Rachel is particularly chirpy).

There is a bar with a terrace which overlooks the lake, shame they can't cut the trees down a bit to give a better view.

My only gripes are a) breakfast is a tad expensive at £14.95 but I did get a very good room rate so I'll let them off that, but the real crime and hence why I have removed a star, is that they have a magnificent Broadwood Grand Piano that is magnificently out of tune - scandalous!!! Get it tuned now!

Would definitely stay here again if I am in the area, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Madeley Court. It is good to hear that you were well looked after in The Priory Restaurant and it is very kind of you to make particular mention of Rachel. I have noted your comments on breakfast pricing and the patio, also. I can confirm as well that we are looking into the piano being re-tuned as, I do agree with you, it would be a real asset to the hotel.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel three years ago, I was very much looking forward to our return. Since our last visit, the hotel has been taken over by the Accor group, who have changed little of the fabric of the hotel, thankfully, and made small changes to its day-to-day operation which have improved the service, which was already very good. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The dining room is beautiful, and only surpassed by the standard of the service and the excellent cuisine. A warm welcome is offered on arrival and maintained throughout the duration of the stay. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Many thanks for your review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am grateful for your praise, particularly on the service offered by my team and your recommendation is genuinely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Madeley Court.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Address: Castlefields Way, Madeley TF7 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel is one of few hotels steeped in so much history. It offers the ambiance of a beautiful 16th-century manor house with parts of the hotel dating as far back as the 13th century, together with all the facilities you'd expect of a modern hotel. You can relax in the stunning conservatory bar overlooking the lake, take a walk around the walled gardens or just settle down in the library. The hotel can be easily reached from junction 4 of the M54 and is only 4 miles from Telford Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz and HostelBookers so you can book your Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeley Clarion
Clarion Madeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.