We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mountain

Blue Mountain
439 Marine Road East, Morecambe, England
01524 831056
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 90 Restaurants in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Mediterranean, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“what a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is one of my favourite restaurants, the food is fantastic everytime, with great size portions, friendly staff, you are not rushed through your meals and they are quite happy to let you sit after and have a drink, a restaurant that i would recommend everytime

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    28
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Locals Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We are local and have been going over the years to Alan and Krisseys restaurant. It's good honest traditional british food, fresh and tasty all cooked in the safe hands of Krissey. You will be greeted when you arrive by Alan who extends his welcome and charm to every customer. Tonight I had Sea Bass that was freshly caught that morning in Morecambe Bay and really does have a different freah taste to many other restaurants where I've had Sea Bass before but perhaps not quite as fresh. The steaks are besutiful and can be served on there own or with many different choices of sauces. My husband loves the steak au poivre. I love the coronet of salmon and prawns as a starter. I've even taken it hone for lunch before today. One thing I would say is the portion size is not small. All of the dishes come with an array of beautiful vegetables. Alan knows his wines so he can recommend a bottle to go with your meal or if you prefer by the glass then you will still get a nice wine. The Blue Mountain has a loyal customer base and if you try it for the first time, you will not be dissappointed. The only thing is, make sure you book early.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Top Nosh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

3rd time now and can't wait for the 4th, i had had prawn starter (lovely) and for mains both me and my wife had the fillet steaks again of course, (mouth watering) we had to skip lunch so that we didn't leave any of the fantastic food, many thanks alan and krissy,

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Awesome Steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Excellent menu choice, steaks are first class! Excellent and very helpful staff. Must book in advance!!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Tasty food , could do with an update ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Had to wait 15 mins for a drinks order to be taken.
Had main course and dessert , main tasted lovely, although all the veg dishes cluttered the table , a lot of food must be wasted as the amount of veg and pots was a bit overfacing , the dessert was clearly bought in ..it was lovely however.
We were not asked if we wanted any coffee etc ..so we didn't bother ..had to go to the bar to ask for the bill .
This is a very nice place , probably could do with a menu and food presentation update.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissykent, Owner at Blue Mountain, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We are very sorry you had to wait for a drink order to be taken i did ask the staff why you were not asked when you was taken to your table and given your menu when you first arrived they said you ask to look at the wine menu first, the table next to you who walked in at the same time as you we served there drinks first then you were ask again for your drinks order.
We are pleased you enjoyed your meal and are very sorry you did not like the way we serve our meals but we are a A la cart restaurant where we serve your meal and not just give you a plate with your meal already on it like a pub.
We are sorry you felt over faced but we do give our customers a good selection of fresh vegetable which are not served in a little dish on the side all mixed together but in dishes were you can see and taste them.
Sorry only some of our sweet are home made but not all,
when you was asked for your sweet order to be taken you was also asked if you wanted coffee to follow but you declined at the time if you wanted coffee later you only have to ask one of the staff.
We are sorry we did not just give you the bill after your sweet but we do not rush our customers after they have eaten we wait for them to ask for the bill when they are ready, they can either come to the bar for the bill or ask one of the waiting on staff to bring it to ther table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountain also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 
Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to Blue Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.