We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Platform

The Platform
Station Buildings, Marine Road Central, Morecambe LA4 4DB, England
+44 1524 582803
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 6 Attractions in Morecambe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Platform is a dedicated live performance venue, uniquely situated in a restored Edwardian railway station on Morecambe promenade. A variety of entertainment is on offer throughout the year from top acts and comedians. The Platform host a variety of festivals and community events, including the Morecambe Kite Festival. The Platform is owned and managed by Lancaster City Council. Keep up to date with the latest news on Facebook or sign up to receive our e-newsletter online. Please do not confuse our entertainment venue with the Station restaurant next door.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I don't know much about this establishment. I attend this venue for dog shows that are held at this venue.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice... Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Okay it's not so spectacular - The coffee is okay and so is the food. But this was and still is a lovely building that has quite rightly been saved. The boardwalk has some interesting and fun artifacts on it and enjoyed my coffee and tea cake (how quaint!) and watched the sea gulls sqaulk and laugh at me as I sat there in the cold and wind... Smashing

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Taiko Drummers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Brilliant atmosphere, excellent performance. Have seen this before and was not disappointed. Pity there were not more people in the audience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great venue not to be confused with the pub next door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Platform is a great venue for live comedy, bands etc. Unfortunately there are a few reviews on here that appear to be confusing The Platform with the pub next door, The Station. Please don't make the same mistake

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Platform for great performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have been going to the platform for many years now.
It has a very cozy atmosphere,for such an unusual venue.
It was one of Morecambe's main stations.
You can get right up close,almost in the performance.
Performers seem to like the audience rapport too.
The program of yearly events will suit many tastes.
We tend towards the live bands.
Last gig was Sept.The Blues Band-Paul Jones and co.,
band made for place,
place made for band,
audience very appreciative.
If you want to stay on after the performance the deco Midland Hotel is just opposite.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Platform also viewed

 

Been to The Platform? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Platform, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.