We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmm fish and chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atkinson's Fish & Chip Restaurant

Atkinson's Fish & Chip Restaurant
16-18 Albert Road | Morecambe, Morecambe LA4 4HB, England
01524 410860
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 90 Restaurants in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: A traditional fish and chip take away with a modern stylish cafe with waiter/waitress service.
cumbria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Recommended by Trip advisor and a great call. We were in morecambe for 1 night and visited Atkinsons. We were not disappointed. Lovely and clean, great service and the haddock, chips and peas were perfect! Can't say any more really, just if you are in morecambe and want fish and chips, get yourselves to Atkinsons! The Wilsons

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    23
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips it may be, but fabulous and you'd love it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A Fish and Chip Restaurant in a Morecambe side street but worth a visit if within 20 miles !
Fish and Chips as they used to be (nearly ... not cooked in lard unfortunately ! ) and delicious.
Pleasant, friendly, smiling staff goes a long way in forming a great meal and what's more clean as a new pin !
We will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham Lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A real Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Myself,Hubby&miniature poodle visited Morecambe for day and came upon Atkinsons in Albert Rd. Having the dog with us we decided upon takeaway but before I ordered I asked if they allowed dogs in the café part and we were told as he was a small,non- barking dog he was allowed! We found the café to be spotless and the staff very welcoming! There were a few regular customers there who were all very friendly adding to the lovely atmosphere of the place, infact one customer said she had been coming there since 1969! I odered Haddock&Chips and my hubby went for the steak pudding&chips and the waitress pointed out to us that both of these were "specials" my Haddock meal included bread&butter and a cup of tea and I ordered mushy peas as extra and my hubbys pudding&chips included mushy peas and he ordered a cup of tea as extra. In spite of the place being fairly busy our food arrived very promptly and it was piping hot. My fish was covered in a thin layer of delicious batter and was cooked to perfection and the chips were home made just like in the old days! My mushy peas were so tasty with a hint of soda just as they should taste. My hubby really enjoyed his steak pudding and he said the gravy was delish! Our bill came to £13.50 which we thought to be excellent value for money as the food was plentiful and delicious. We would most definitely go back there next time we visit Morecambe and overall we think that Atkinsons is a real gem of a place!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

fish and chips were lovely, nice fat chips - no scrappy bits, and the fish was very tasty, nice batter.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utopia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great fish & chip restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Atkinsons is a restaurant adjoining the fish and chip shop in Albert Road in the west end of Morecambe, just a stone's throw from the sea front on a busy road so parking is not always available outside, however I have always managed to park just a couple of minutes walk away. The restaurant itself is spotlessly clean and very tastefuly decorated in a modern style.The staff are very friendly and efficient.Lots of the customers seem to be regulars who enjoy a 'natter' with the staff.
The food is proper 'Chip Shop' fare., Tasty fish in batter lovely chips and great mushy peas.The menu covers just about what you would find in your local chip shop.They do a nice pot of tea and the coffee is o.k. too.They have a pensioners special on offer, fish, chips, bread and butter and a pot of tea for under £6. I believe they have other specials on offer daily and I have seen some traditional desserts on the menu but have always been far too full to try them.
If you are looking for a proper sit down fish and chip meal in Morecambe, I think this is as good as it gets.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atkinson's Fish & Chip Restaurant also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 
Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to Atkinson's Fish & Chip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atkinson's Fish & Chip Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.