We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and Service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of alfredos

alfredos
9 skipton street | LA44AR, Morecambe LA4 4AR, England
01524 415184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 86 Restaurants in Morecambe
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Louisiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food and Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The atmosphere is relaxing, the food is great and the service is friendly and accommodating. Bring your appetite because the side dish portions are huge. The entries are very well prepared and tasty. The owner likes to make you feel comfortable.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    10
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
morecambe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Excellent steaks. Nice staff but stuck in the 60's needs a serious updating.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I will not be returning.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I was a visitor to the town from a different part of the country, and took a chance on this restaurant one evening, based upon the menu in the window. I now realise that this was an ill-considered strategy for selecting somewhere to dine. Reasons that I will not be returning to this establishment include: very hostile service (both over the phone when booking a table, and in person throughout the meal); good produce, very badly cooked and presented; overambitious menu; very poor wine list; burnt and undressed starter of scallops; overcooked turbot as a main meal, served with chips; incredibly dated decor; ill-mannered clientele; and wildy overpriced for the quality being served.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some bad, some good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I've been a visitor to Alfredo's for over 20 years & in that time very little has changed. Alfredo's is a quaint little hideaway that specialises in fish & steak, so if none of those tickle your fancy you should look elsewhere. The menu does lack depth, but as they say there's no need to bombard the clientèle with choice in order to make an impression. Perhaps my expectations have changed over the years, but I remember that going to Alfredo's was a big deal. As it stands I'm a little indifferent;
The Good Points:
Friendly & attentive staff
Generous portion size

The bad:
Expensive for what it is - there's far better fayre to be sourced around the area if you're a dinner who loves a bargain.
Lack of imagination - same old, same old = fish, steak, served on Hornsea Pottery, no wow factor, but again you know what to expect.
My dessert was frozen in the middle - ok perhaps I shouldn't even been looking towards a dessert after the Sole Fountainbleu, but hey; eyes bigger than belly etc. To be fair once I'd reported this the waiter offered me 'a few strawberries', which I declined. It was at this point as I was pushing away what was essentially a frozen Sara Lee Cheesecake & drained the last of the Mateaus Rose (which I'd paid £16ish for) that I thought, 'the bad outweighs the good', it no longer holds that place of significance within me. I've had some great family celebrations & nights with my wonderful wife here, but it's time to move on & sample the varied fayre around a lovely slice of England.

If it sounds confused, it's because I am; I've just found out Santa doesn't exist & Alfredo's is just an average steak restaurant. That sort of realisation can really put you off your meal.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food not always great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Fantastic fish menu and lovely steaks. The deserts are average and do not match the quality of the main courses. The restaurant would not harm from refurbishment especially the toilets. The service at weekends can be rushed and one of the waiters annoyingly interrupts your meal repeatedly- this spoiled our last visit but we would go back for a midweek meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed alfredos also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 
Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to alfredos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage alfredos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.