We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, dont bother !!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Cafe Bar and Restaurant

The Grove Cafe Bar and Restaurant
3-5 Pedder street, Morecambe la45dy, England
01524410927
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 86 Restaurants in Morecambe
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor, dont bother !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Sigh...this "restaurant" (and I use that description loosely) serves food that would remind you of your school dinners of old, ie- over- cooked veg placed onto your plate with an ice cream scoop, boil in the bag meat and powdered sauces.

I decided to order the chilli and chips and was extremely dissapointed to be served a very inciped, pale red mince combined with a few red kiney beans. I apprecite that no every one likes spicy food but it lacked any kind of flavour. Was any chilli powder, red wine, tomato paste, sun dried tomatoes, stock used ?...I doubt it very much.
It was accompanied by a scattering of nachos on the side but these had the texture as if the had been left out all night in a non air tight container ??
The chips were luke walm and lacked chrispness, also prehaps a little salsa would not go amiss.
I get the impression that the cook / chef (snigger??!) had been a school cook / dinner lady and their skills had not advanced since then.......hmm should have had the fish ?..

The decor is both dated and tired. It needs the tacky brass ornimants removing, the plaster "cottaging" removed, then guttting and a brighter, lighter colour sceme used with complimentry lighting used..

When i goto a restaurant I dont wish to be taken back to the 70's thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The best eatery in Morecambe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are in Morecambe and you are looking for traditional food in a traditional café/restaurant, then the place that I am about to review is the place for you - The Grove café/restaurant in Morecambe.

The best things about this café/restaurant are :-


1. The food is delicious, compliments to the chef

2. The staff are very friendly and their skills are second to none and will endeavour to make your visit more comfortable

3. The place is clean

4. The atmosphere of the place is nice too.


So the next time you come to Morecambe and you are looking for somewhere to go for your lunch, then visit The Grove café/restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth the drive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Love this place for the fish and chips. Regularly drive to morcambe to go for a walk then visit the Grove for there beautiful fish and chips. Very good size portions the batter is crunchy and it all comes with mushy peas, bread and butter and coffee/tea. Very reasonably priced and great service from the staff. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Need to pull there socks up!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Faded , food just ok, staff good attentive and pleasant. Poor value for money .
The restaurant needs a refurb, decoration is faded and old fashioned.
The food was ok but nothing special, piping hot though. One of our party had a roast beef baguette, the bread would have made a good fence post.
The staff , two young girls were very helpful without being in your face.
I have eaten here before many years ago and then the restaurant was full, today at lunch there was maybe three other tables occupied , sort of tells you something . We complained about the baguette however no interest was shown.
I wouldn't rush back, a cafe and just a cafe, poor value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Got a voucher on Top Town Deals and visited on a Saturday afternoon.

It was quiet only 3 tables booked..

We handed over our voucher and reviewed the menu.

Both decided on starters and main.

Black pudding and Morecambe Bay shrimp starters were both excellent.

Haddock and chips were fab.. Large white chunky fish fillets in crispy batter.. I'm very fussy about fish and this reached my high expectations.

Overall the question is.. Would I visit again... Definitely Yes.

Please try and visit, this cafe is 100 years old... Local businesses should be supported more :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove Cafe Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 
Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to The Grove Cafe Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Cafe Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.