We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great take away.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Rose

Thai Rose
271 Marine Road Central, Morecambe LA4 5BX, England (Formerly McThai)
01524 409704
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 90 Restaurants in Morecambe
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Thai Rose is a first for Morecambe. Sited in an iconic building with panoramic views over the bay. Our renowned Thai chef has over 25years experience of Thai Cuisine so you are assured of a true taste of Thailand. All dishes are individually prepared so freshness is what you will receive. Thai food is wholesome and healthy, we won't disappoint you; try us and you will be hooked for life.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great take away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

First time eating from here, we had a takeaway and we weren't disappointed. Seemed a really nice atmosphere so much so i wished i was eating in. The Food was amazing. I had a yellow curry for the first time, beautiful, top quality ingredients. Hubby had duck noodles and was equally impressed. very good price too, as its 20% off takeaway. Thankyou thai rose, looking forward to our first dining in experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ande2212, Manager at Thai Rose, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hi and thank you for your review.
Our food is of the highest quality using only fresh ingredients which includes all herbs and spices, we don't believe you will find a fresher tasting meal be it eating in or takeaway. With 20% off on collection of takeaways and delivery Tuesday to Thursday. Eating in, then we have the 50% discount if you are seated before 6pm.
Look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    46
    15
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Four of us have just eaten in the Thai Rose, everyone's dishes were great both starters and mains. The service was excellent, food arrived promptly. One dish in particular looked stunning as it was served in a potato basket, the carrot flowers adding a pretty touch. Great food and great value too. Would definitely recommend

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ande2212, Manager at Thai Rose, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review.
The dish in the potato basket is one of many which are being designed to offer you true quality in taste and looks but still Authentic. A new menu will follow soon with other dishes which will blow your mind and taste buds. Our current menu is and will remain the best example of Thai cuisine you will find anywhere. Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We visit here on a regular basis, and think its the best Thai in the area (lancaster). Other Thai restaurants might be a bit more sophisticated with decor etc.... but the prices, portions and quality don't match here in my view. Therefore I think here is far more value. Fortunately we have never been here with a rowdy group although we went one night in November through the week and it was cold down stairs. I would recommend based on nice food, good value, views over the bay and the dining area is nice. Unfortunately it is an old 30's building with a trip to the toilet going back in time :o). Let's hope more visitors and business will help to invest in a couple of areas of this old building and then I think we can all have our cake and eat it... Thai cake obviously!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ande2212, Manager at Thai Rose, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Your report is noted and I appreciate your honesty. As far as the building is concerned we have for the past three years invested in improvements but that is restricted to our level of business and profit. The more support obviously the more we can do. Rowdy groups are few and far between, I think we have only had a couple in the three years. Toilets will be addressed this year but they are kept very clean in the meantime. Our style of Thai food again as you say cannot be beaten in the area, we have just come back from a month in Thailand and I can honestly say that the quality there has dropped, our owner/chef has maintained her standards so you really are getting genuine Thai food. New menus will follow soon but in the meantime we are running a 50% discount on our A La Carte menu through February at least, if you are seated by 6pm you qualify. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“keep your coat on”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We thought we'd try this Thai restaurant instead of going to neighburing Lancaster.mistake!it was so cold and totally lacked atmosphere. It felt like an old fashioned sea side cafe that's just decided to do a Thai menu. We came away feeling cold and miserable.the food was pretty basic. We will definately not return

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ande2212, Manager at Thai Rose, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
The comments of your review have been noted, the main heater was an issue of the evening although I don't believe the restaurant was cold. Yes it is an old building serving as a restaurant since the 30's. We cannot change that image so we use it to our advantage making our lower floor very cosy while the first floor is very open offering outstanding views across the bay.
My main concern is comments you made about our food, there is nothing basic about it and if you compare with other restaurants offering our style of cuisine you will find we are ranked with the best.
I would like you to visit again but ask for me and I will ensure you have a very enjoyable evening.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Joke”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Not to sure what sort of service people ofmorecambe are used to but if the service in ths place is it then a visit to a good restaurant would blow there mind , the toilets in this place are a throw back to Victorian times , after informing the rude waiter on the lack of hot water , his response was " yeah I know" what sort of Thai runs out of ribs ? Give this place a miss guys

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ande2212, Manager at Thai Rose, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your review, however as I was still away in Thailand at the time of your visit I have asked the staff of the evening. Staff and other customers were convinced you were out just to spoil an evening. Yes we do know what other restaurants outside Morecambe service is like and they probably would have asked you to leave.
Please if you visit again have some respect for other people including staff. We want to please all customers! The hot water issue is being addressed this year. Regarding lack of spare ribs, our first chef was away in Thailand and as we have a special recipe it was better for the second chef to leave of the menu.
I have visited a restaurant in Thailand (4*) which had ran out of Rice. But I remained calm and well mannered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Rose also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 
Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to Thai Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.