We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curried favour with us!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curry Leaf

Curry Leaf
223 marine road Central, Morecambe, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 80 restaurants in Morecambe
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The restaurant describes itself as Bangladeshi/Indian food
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Curried favour with us!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked in advance for a group of 8 for my birthday. On arrival we were shown to. A table all set ready with chair ties around our chairs - setting us sort from other diners. The service was excellent and they were really attentive without being over zealous. Price wise the meal was unbeatable - all in all it was a great choice and we will go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    17
    19
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fancy a curry ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Perfect seafront location . All the right choices at good prices . Great Lassi, amazing choice of curries of all heats .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“food quiet normal nothing special and got ripped off!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

called the restaurant at 4.30 to check that the evening deal i seen online was running and what time it finished. We turned up at the restaurant at 6.45 and got sat down for 6.50 when the waiter produced a normal menu which i indicated we had come for the special menu at 6.50 he said that it was 6.55 which was still in time and had try to fob me off with a normal menu. Now bearing in mind on the special menu which is 8.95 comes with starter, main course and a drink. We was offered no starter and ordered 4 poppadoms two main madras courses and and two rice and two drinks. I wasnt knocked out by the curry ive had far better than this to be honest as in the meat was ok but the sauce lacked authenticity and the poppadoms were like pre made ones from asda, also the rice i asked for was pilau rice and this seemed to me like a standard white no frills boil in the bag. Then the bill came and it was £28.00 for a meal i was expecting to pay £19 pounds for i feel robbed by the guys, They tend to lurk around when your eating aswell, the toilet was clean but very small. Im not going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North west England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Group of men swearing spolied the atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

i went to this restaurant at the same time as a group of young men. Their language was crude and obnoxious. it spoiled the meal. We mentioned it to the waiter and he said what can you expect in Morecambe. I expect a better ambience you get it in other places

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It used to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We've eaten at the Curry leaf a few times since it was first opened and have always hood an enjoyable meal and evening.
Our most recent visit in May though was a little different. We went with friends who were over from Australia and with the promise of a fab evening out. Unfortunately on this occassion it failed to delivery.
The restaurant's bar looks as though it's being turned in to an unlicensed restaurant, no draught beers just bottled beer which on the menu on the tables says that it's all Non-Alcoholic. There are lots of signs saying Bring Your Own. One of the main attractions for us when dining out is the full service including drinks, we just don;t want to bring our own and then have it sit getting warm.

Then the food, we've had fresher, the peppers used were either frozen or old as they had lost their crunch and texture.

Hopefully this is just a blip and they're refurbishing the bar area (no signs though), it used to be a fab curry house akin to Marsala in Heysham.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Leaf also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 
Heysham, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to Curry Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.