We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and grubby” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Rotunda Bar

The Rotunda Bar
English Lakes Hotels Marine Road West | The Midland Hotel, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
+44(0)1524 424000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 86 Restaurants in Morecambe
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing and grubby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We went to have morning coffee and an early lunch to celebrate a birthday in an elegant location. The location was stunning and the coffee was good, as were the biscuits but they came wrapped in plastic rather than served on a plate. We needed to go and find staff to take our order. Once we moved through to the Rotunda it became even harder to attract the attention of the staff who stayed on the wrong side of the central column so couldn't easily see us. This appears to be a training issue. Tables and chairs in the Rotunda were uncomfortable and cramped. The floor was uneven with one table propped up by a bit of hardboard. Where the floor met the curved window appeared very grubby. Overall, this was a disappointing experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    33
    21
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleckheaton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

It's worth paying a bit extra for lunch just for the view. Interesting menu. Bar staff are friendly and helpful.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointment on Wedding Anniversary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Please see review - could not cater easily for diabetic diet - even though I had told them when booking that I could not eat cakes, and fresh fruit would be acceptable. twenty-five minutes wait while they made a fruit salad. Not acceptable

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smartest bar in Morecambe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This would be my first choice for pre dinner drinks. Came here and had an intimate booth with my girlfriends for an early evening meal. Loved the steak and chips.
Nice understated service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We thought we would pop in for lunch to check the place out with a view to holding an event at the Midland. It was a Sunday afternoon and we arrived at 1.30pm, asked reception for a table for lunch and we told we'd have to ask the restaurant as lunch finishes at 1.30pm. We asked a lady at the bar and were informed that as it was 1.30 we would not be able to have a table in the restaurant. We were slightly disappointed as there were many other tables at various stages of lunch still occupying the restaurant and we thought in general 1.30pm was quite early to finish serving lunch. So instead of the restaurant we were directed to the rotunda bar where we could get lighter bar meals. On entering the bar it really was not what I expected from a good hotel. Plastic furniture, that would look more at home in diner. The bar itself is white with stools around it therefore it is marked and dirty from all the shoes scuffs, not the best design idea! We then ordered and as the drinks we're put down we we're asked for payment of the whole bill! Really not something we expected from a classy hotel, especially as you can open a tab at the most basic of pub/restaurants. This also stopped us ordering another drink as we didn't have cash on us and were not going to use a card for two drinks! As we waited for our food we had a look round our surroundings and decided it really wasn't what we were expecting, we believed the hotel to be fully restored to its former glory but we thought it looked to have been done a bit half hearted (although we only used the public areas not the rooms) . The outside looked as grey as the morecambe weather rather than a nice white and the floor in the bar area was all cracked where we were sat. Any way the food came and it was nice enough, the staff were also pleasant enough although at one point there were more staff than tables occupied! Overall there was nothing wrong with the food we ate or the service we received but it just wasn't the special afternoon we thought we were in for!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rotunda Bar also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to The Rotunda Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rotunda Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.